the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I am as American as 114

04.06.2003

3:23 pm


find your inner PIE @ stvlive.com

as well as slow.

Actually apple is just the flavor pie I am. The editorial comment about being American is mine, since I am. So be it. My reflex time is still that of a 90 year old.

After spending all Friday evening at a school event for the GSA (it went very, very well, thank you) and all Saturday morning running a workshop for a handful of teachers, the weekend didn't even think of starting until yesterday afternoon, when I had to work out all kinds of details about my father's estate, such as it is, with my sister. So much for Saturday. I began this time-shifted Sunday morning at the supermarket, which I usually do on Saturday morning, so I am now officially farblundget, which is Yiddish for I don't know what the hell is going on.

There was only one thing to do with the rest of my weekend, and I did it. I've just spent about two lovely hours reading diaries, pausing occasionally to look for things to buy on the Internet. Not that I bought anything today, but I like to look.

The two quizzes above were found at gonzostar's diary. I checked out kitchenlogic's ebay shop; go take a look, she does nice work. I was amused by these t-shirt slogans I came across through some of the other librarians' diaries I look at:

a picture of a violent-looking rubber stamp and the words "libraryavenger.com"

"the zen librarian searched for nothing on the web and got 2,456,803 hits"

and for gay librarians (there's a market, i suppose): "We're here, we're queer, and we're well informed."
I am amused.

There's also something about why you should worship a librarian, which you can also find here.
I am so just letting me mind out for a walk today. Otherwise, I've got laundry laundering and I'm thinking about how I'll re-do the two closets in our bedroom here when Hubs makes R's room into a study next fall, and moves all his clothes into the closet there.

I may have neglected to mention this to him. About the closet, I mean. He's looking forward to a study.

Question: Why do men get to have their own study as soon as a room opens up in the house?
Answer: It keeps them out of the rest of the house, which is all ours, girls. As we know.

Two closets. *** deep blissful sigh *** I never dreamed of such a thing.
Funny day, here, little Yiddish expressions keep popping into my head, and they're really impossible to write in English, let alone explain well. More on Yiddish at another time, though, and why I can't speak it at all, except for those occasional words. But what a great language.

Anyway, so, right in the middle of everything today, while I'm cruising from diary to diary and being so relaxed and happy, I get a phone call from R, who's been visiting K at college this weekend and is driving home and just realized that she has lost her wallet. She thinks, she says, that she left it on top of the car when she got gas in Maryland. (That's two states away, friends.) So I said, and this is totally one of our favorite family expressions, courtesy of my nephew J2 about ten years ago: "Sucks to be you." What else can you say? It does. Losing your wallet sucks, especially when she lost her wallet about six months ago. Okay, that time I found it under her bed, but not before everything was cancelled and replaced.

But she called back about a half hour later and said she was at a rest stop in New Jersey and tore the car apart and found it. So what does this mean, that she took care of it herself after all? That would be good, since she is going to graduate school in Europe next year.
cosmicrayola posted the winter storm warning for Southern Massachusetts and Rhode Island on her page today; they're expecting 7 inches of snow. Way down south here in New Jersey, folks, they're predicting a mere 6. Six inches of snow in New Jersey in April. Instant karma is getting somebody good this year. I wonder who it could be?
It's going to f***ing snow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching E! Hollywood Stories on Hollywood Squares. Really.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here