the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Fivin' 121

04.18.2003

4:33 pm

As hoped -- and expected -- I can hear again today. That is, I hear within the parameters of what's normal for me. I didn't even put my hearing aids on to go out, since I was going for a facial and a haircut, when I'd have to take them off anyway. The facial is so so so good, even though the person/girl who does it is a former student, which is sometimes weird, but okay with her, maybe since she graduated over ten years ago with my nephew J1, and I've been going to her for facials for a few years now. I do see former and current students everywhere, though; last week a current library volunteer was manning the dressing room at Old Navy, I bought a VCR from a former student at Best Buy a couple of weeks ago, and last summer, a graduate from a few years back gave me a massage at the gym. That was actually a little weird.

The day I go to a new gynecologist who turns out to be a former student is the day I move as far away from here as I can get.



The Friday Fiiiiive!

1. Who is your favorite celebrity?
Hmmm. Celebrity means different things to different people. Are you asking, who is the famous person of any sort that I generally obsess over? That would be Patrick Stewart. Do I think he's the most admirable person around? Hardly, he's just a man, and we all know what they're like. But I do enjoy the obsession, minor that it is.

2. Who is your least favorite?
I guess I'm thinking in terms of actors here, having started with Mr. Stewart. I used to have a lot of trouble watching Christopher Walken, and I know I'm not the only one; I've even heard him talk about how he gives people the creeps. But he's done many charming parts in recent years, and so is redeemed. (I still can't watch The Deer Hunter, though.) Not too crazy about Charles Rocket and Willem Dafoe, not that it takes up much of my time.

3. Have you ever met or seen any celebrities in real life?
Indeed I have! Remember, I live pretty close to New York City. Here goes:
Three sightings over the years at a local upscale mall: Alan Alda buying ties in Bloomingdale's, Abe Vigoda having lunch in a deli, Gordon from Sesame Street (not the original one who just died, the other one) walking with his kid. I also once saw this same Gordon running in a nearby park; he was an extremely fine looking fellow, if you get my drift. I once sat in front of Julian Bond (who?) at the theatre, and when I went on a class trip to Washington, DC in high school I stood next to Adam Clayton Powell on a crowded elevator, and then talked to Mike Mansfield, who was the Senate majority leader. I also sat at Spiro Agnew's desk, but he wasn't in DC that day. On another DC visit, I saw President Reagan from across the Capitol lawn.

So not only am I boring, I've only met boring celebrities.

I've also seen a whole lot of famous people on stage, but that doesn't really count, does it? I've seen Patrick Stewart on stage three times. But the most incredible cast I ever saw was when I went to a revival of the play "Harvey" when I was in high school, and it was starring the cast of the original stage production from the 1950s: James Stewart, Helen Hayes, Jesse White, Mary Wickes.

4. Would you want to be famous? Why or why not?
One of the fantasies I've had all my life is that I'm being interviewed on TV for something. I understand that this is a pretty common American daydream. I used to imagine being on Johnny Carson, but now it's more like Oprah, or maybe being on a segment of 20/20 or 60 Minutes or something. I don't know for what, maybe for writing the unexpected runaway bestseller of the year. Is that the same as being famous? I wouldn't want it to change my life, except for the more money part. When I see things about famous people on TV or in magazines, like that tacky Us (I don't buy it, I just see it sometimes. Really.) I think it must be terrible for so many other people to think they have some right to intrude on your life, write about you, speculate about your health and happiness, and so on. I don't think anyone deserves that, with the exception of someone like Michael Jackson who's done so much to attract attention to himself that he deserves what he gets. His children, however, deserve to be left alone, including by him. I don't think I answered the question, however.

5. If you had to trade places with a celebrity for a day, who would you choose and why?
Very tough. Maybe J.K. Rowling. Maybe she can still go to the supermarket without being mobbed, or maybe she can hire someone to go for her, which is better. Here's who I don't want to be: Calista Flockhart. Madonna. Madonna. Madonna.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Bring It On on DVD with R
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here