the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Stats 122

04.19.2003

5:42 pm

I am endlessly amused by my stats. First, the whole google thing, but I am really only ever googled for "chai" and "tattoo", and clearly these folks are not looking for me, but are looking to get a tattoo, the way I did, of the Hebrew symbol/word/letter that means "life." So be it, that's what I did before I got the tattoo, but there was no me to find, not then.

Speaking of the chai, and off the stats subject for a minute, I'm going to the MIL/FIL for Easter tomorrow, and since we are all in an endless conspiracy to keep them from knowing things we'd rather not go into with them, I've spent the last hour or so looking for a watch to wear to cover the chai. I was always a serious watch wearer, usually a Mickey Mouse, wore a watch at all times since I was about 9, but since I got the chai I've only worn one when I needed to, like on a class trip or something where I was going to have to know the time and maybe not see a clock anywhere. I've gotten very nicely accustomed to not needing a watch in my life. Anyway, I picked up a watch I liked for cheap at the CVS, but it turns out I can't adjust the bracelet band. So this means I can wear it all the time if I like, since it doesn't cover the chai, but I can't wear it tomorrow, because it doesn't cover the chai. I guess I'll wear a nice old Mickey I stumbled across in the search. In the meantime, the bracelet of this new one is loose, as it should be, and it keeps scraping against the computer as I type. It's driving me crazy. I may be watchless in a matter of moments.

Anyway, the stats. I have mentioned this before, but here I go again. For awhile, I was pretty sure that K, my younger daughter, was reading my diary. I was sure because, according to the stats, someone not just at her college, but in her dorm is reading it, and pretty regulularly, it seems. So you can imagine that this freaked me out some. I asked her about it and she was a little horrified at the thought of either of us reading each other's diaries, so I knew she wasn't and that was okay. And if I had any lingering doubt -- which I didn't, anyway -- the mystery reader looked at my diary earlier this afternoon, and K came home on the train this morning. So there.

Now what's freaking me out is that someone at my niece's college, way the hell in another state, is reading it, too. I don't know if it's the same dorm, since I don't know what dorm she's in. But it's a little eerie, no?

So if you're a college student in Washington DC or Philadelphia, and you're reading this, will you drop me a line in my guestbook? This old bag/mother/teacher/librarian would appreciate it so. And thank you.


I touched up my template yesterday; I'm not sure why, exactly. If you're wondering, Teterboro is a tiny little airport in north Jersey, less than 10 miles from NYC; it's where all the famous people in private planes come and go from. As far as I'm concerned, it's the closest spot for a weather check, so that's why it shows up in my little weather magnet.

And look down at the little running book at the bottom of the page. This is a totally cool sort of service thing that anyone can do; you don't have to be part of an organization, although I'll probably try to get people at school involved, too. The idea is to read a book and set it free. You put a number inside it (read about it at the website, bookcrossing.com) and then you leave the book somewhere, like on a bus, or in a waiting room, or even a dressing room. Someone picks it up, reads it, goes to the website and logs it in, and so on. The idea is to let the books roam all around the world, and you can follow the travels of the book you set free, or of any book you find. Give it a try!

I saw another quiz on someone's site -- Which Shakespearean tragic heroine are you? -- but I'm not linking to it because I came out as Lady Macbeth. I don't know why, my house is always a mess. Anyway, why would anyone want to be a Shakespearean tragic heroine, since the one thing they all have in common is that they die at the end? I think the choices were Lady Macbeth, Desdemona, or Juliet. Maybe they brightened it up a bit by throwing in Cordelia, but I didn't go that far. Now to be a Shakespearean comedy heroine, that's the deal I want. I'd have to go with Kate from The Taming of the Shrew, man, did she ever know how to get what she wanted out of life.

It's lovely out today, and it's the kick-off of my spring break, so maybe I'll have the week to do some nice things. Loved the facial yesterday, planning on a possible pedicure later in the week. I do the facial a few times a year, but I think I've only ever had a pedicure three or four times in my life. I'm going for the pampering thing. I also have about a bazillion errands to run of one kind or another, so I'll see how that goes. If I'm really really really good, I'll drop in at the gym and see when their yoga classes are scheduled. If I do that, then I'll really owe myself a present. Signing up for and actually going to a yoga class should earn me a trip to DisneyWorld.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Can't Hardly Wait (kids are home)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here