the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just thinking ... and eating 127

04.24.2003

3:29 pm

After I posted my last entry, I got the urge and went out to Taco Bell and got enough food for ... well, more than me. My eating problem is not that I eat a lot -- I generally have a small appetite -- but that I could eat little bits of crap-food all day long. But I just had to have tacos. And a crunchy gordita thing. And nachos. And it was mmmmmm.

I read something in the paper about how suburbs today are being built without sidewalks, and everything is spread out, and that's why people aren't walking as much anymore and getting fat. Okay. Well, my suburb is old-school, as my kids would say; there are sidewalks everywhere and neighborhood schools, no busing at all, in fact. The problem is that except for the schools, and since my sister moved six years ago, there isn't a single thing within walking distance that I would want to go to. Lucky for me that all I had to do was jump in the car and drive into a neighboring suburb to get to the Taco Bell.

One of the roads I needed to take is carved up by three railroad crossings: one long out-of-use without even any gates or lights, one single track where there's almost never a train, and one big scary crossing with about four tracks that run diagonally across the road so it takes up even more space. It was at this one that I noticed one of my all-time favorite road signs. It says:

Do not stop on tracks.



Yeah, no shit! We're scared to cross this one when there's no train in sight. It makes you wonder about the idiots who've done something in the past that made signs like this necessary.

When I took K to the train Monday morning, we were waiting for hers as another train stopped at the station and people were boarding. And we saw this sign posted on the side of the train:

DO NOT BOARD MOVING TRAIN!



Are there really that many stupid people around us?

And speaking of New York drivers ... Yes, I know it's politically incorrect to lump all people in a particular group together and speak ill of them, but seriously, these people believe that the only reason we have handicapped parking spaces in New Jersey is so that they'll have a place to park when they get here. NOTICE: A New York state license plate is not the same thing as a handicapped license plate! It's different! It's not the same thing!

I saw two of them in my travels, just today.

And not stupid, perhaps, but I saw another of my favorite signs on my way to devour tacos, this one at a coffee shop:

GOOD FOOD


I never know what to do with this one. My mind always reads it this way:

GUD FUD


But it could just as easily be

GOOOD FOOOD


So there you go.
Seriously, now. Will the inhabitant of Hughes Hall kindly write in my guestbook before the end of the semester and put me out of my misery? I plan to repeat this message with each entry until you do, or the semester ends, whichever. I thank you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching sappy Hallmark movie I taped
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here