the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

5 + Vacation is OVER! 128

04.25.2003

3:35 pm

1. What was the last TV show you watched?
The TV is on virtually all the time when I'm awake. That doesn't mean I'm always actually watching it. Note that I even included a space in my template to note what's on TV, since there's always something. Right now, it's Dr. Phil. Last night I watched -- but not too closely -- the regular Thursday night sitcoms: Friends, Will & Grace. But yesterday afternoon I sat and did nothing but watch a TV movie that was on the Hallmark channel last week that I had taped, a real weeper with a terrible name: Love Comes Softly. What can I say? I smiled, I cried, I was embarrassed for the cats to see me that way. I loved it.

2. What was the last thing you complained about and what was the problem?
Hmmm. Last big-time complaint was about my in-laws on Easter Sunday. I've had very little complaints about them at all in the 25+ years I've been married, so it's been pretty upsetting. As for since then, I've been on vacation this week, Sibs is at work, both kids are away at college, Hubs worked three nights this week, so I haven't interacted with enough people to have anything to complain about.

3. Who was the last person you complimented and what did you say?
It was L! This morning! Read all about it below, after the Friday 5.

4. What was the last thing you threw away?
I have begun to clean out stuff in the house that no one needs anymore, and I even wrote a little something about it last night, which I thought I would post today, but I'll post it tomorrow instead, so here's something to look forward to: the story of the secret garbage. In general, I throw out stuff all the time, and I'll be doing it until I die, even if I don't go for another hundred years. I am a packrat of the highest order, as (some of you know) were my parents before me.

5. What was the last website (besides this one) that you visited?
I just read about a dozen other diaries before I came to sit down to write this entry.


I finally got to go over and do a home-instruction session with L. It was so wonderful to see her! It was just about 6 weeks ago that she came down with bacterial meningitis and no one knew what would happen. She looks great and is very happy and eager to get back to school. Although she still has to get back a lot of strength, her attitude is fabulous and her mind is sharp; in fact, she'd already read the book her regular English teacher sent home so I gave her a different one, much more challenging, and she's up to it. So here are the compliments: I told her she looked great, which she did, and as she worked on an essay about the last book, I kept encouraging her and telling her that she'd gotten the points of the story just right, understood what the author meant, and so on. The only thing I kept having to hold back was saying to her mother "Wow your house is so beautiful, it must be the biggest house in town, it's gorgeous!" etc. because that seemed a little tacky and out of place. But it was a helluva house.

Hello?? Hughes Hall? Anybody home?

And an odd unsolicited commercial: a few months ago I got a program called Cute HTML, and okay, it provided some minor assistance and I've been writing my entries in HTML. And then three days ago I figured out how it really really works and now I'm just sticking tags on everything with very little typing. I'm not endorsing it; I don't know enough about HTML to do that, but baby, it's working for me.

As I write this, it's about 20 past 3, and since school is normally over by this time, that means that my vacation is effectively over. I want this week to be my Groundhog Day, you know, where you get stuck in a loop and one day (or I'll take the week) keeps repeating over and over. It was nice and quiet, I shopped and shopped and shopped and shopped, and just kept making to-do lists and crossing off stuff when I did it. Like the proverbial pig in shit, which, frankly, makes a much better image than happy as a clam. All I have left is to pick up the cat from the groomer and write one scholarship recommendation for a kid who emailed me the request this morning, and I'm done. All done.

And then what?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here