the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Got My Baby Back 137

05.07.2003

7:00 pm

Yes, it's true: freshman year is over. I picked her up from the train this afternoon. (Coincidentally, at almost the same time, according to my stats, that someone in her dorm took a look at my little diary. Good luck on your last finals, Hughes; have a good summer!)

So I get to watch Idol tonight with a companion, since for sure Hubs doesn't watch it, and wouldn't be good company if he did. If any of the Lecherous Broads for Clay Aiken are reading, I saw your sign on the show last night! Of course, being slow menopausal and presbyopic, I wasn't sure if that's what it really was until I saw on your site that it was, but I saw it, I did! Clay is a cutie indeed.

Somehow I did think I had more to write tonight.

Oh, here it is:

I've been telling Colleague about the diary-keeping, off and on for a few months now. Last week I downloaded a backup of it, and, after editing out the weird HTML that remains when you do that, I printed it out for her to read. I know, I know, I could have just given her the URL, right? Somehow I wasn't ready to do that yet. Not sure why; I've never even particularly written about her, probably because she's the best stress-free relationship I've got. (Okay, she ties with Chum, and I haven't written about her, either.) I'd like my sister to read some of it, too, but that's a way more complicated thing, making me wonder if there's anything in there I'd prefer she not read. So that one takes a bit more thought.

So I printed it out and gave it to her, and every so often when there's a lull in the day's activity, she pulls it out and reads an entry or two. I know she's doing this because I hear her laughing in her office, about 8 feet away from me. Which is to say that this is a friend who just gets me, and always has, which makes her my best audience, in addition to a good friend. Am I rambling now?

Of course, we must keep it from the SCM, since I do vent about him from time to time ** yesterday **, although he has come into the office a time or two and asked her what she was reading as he moved behind her so he could see. (Heavens, yes, he does that too. The Yiddish word for him is yenta, which means a busybody, can't stand to be out of the loop, etc.) In fact, I printed out yesterday's entry about him for her too, along with the most enjoyable guestbook entries that several of you kindly and most amusingly left. Turns out that Colleague is your best audience, too.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends, for a change
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here