the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

In No Particular Order 140

05.12.2003

9:46 pm

1. WOO HOO, I have been quoted and I feel like ... (insert a metaphor here that indicates joy) ... okay, like my writing and vocabulary skills have flushed themselves into the Passaic River, but really, thanks golfwidow; I'd send flowers, but I'm allergic, so I'll think of something else.

2. The winds have shifted, and even thought the SCM is up to his usual tricks -- I came this close (picture two fingers ... oh, you get it) to saying to him today "Everything is not always about you!" it would totally have been just kicking a puppy, since he reminds me of Woody Allen, sans pedophilia and massive talent, just keeping the neurouses -- I'm better with him this week but Colleague wants him strung up by his thumbs. We come and we go, and this week it's her turn. At one point she had her door closed and was on the phone, so he went in and stood in front of her desk because he needed to talk to her! and when she didn't acknowledge him he wrote a note and stuck it front of her. But I'm okay.

3. So I was reading melwadel's diary, and first there was the thing about the hair removal device that went all HAL on her, and I remembered that I got one of these things once, a hair-sucker, you know, it pulls the little hairs right out of your skin, and I read the directions and it said something like "Perfect for the bikini area!" so I thought Hey, why not, and HOLY TORTURE, BATMAN! These little hair suckers were apparently the little-known by-product of secret Nazi research, because really, only the SS could think this up. And then the insanity of health insurance! My favorite story is that once when I had laryngitis, my plan didn't approve the medicine, and I could only get an override by calling them on the phone myself, no one else could call. Hmm. No wait, the best one was when they didn't pay for K's delivery, and when I called to clear this up, this is what they had done: they had listed the procedure under R's name instead of mine (also an R initial), so she hadn't met the deductible for the year. "Are you saying," I asked, "that according to your records, my three-year old just gave birth to her sister?"

4. I am so still obsessing over the MIL/FIL debacle, I really must move on with life. I'll be seeing them on Sunday, when my baby - R - graduates from college (!!!!!), and I don't want to spoil that day for her, but we'll see what happens. Actually, I'm such a chickenshit about these things that I'll probably just have to stew about it for a few more weeks, but ... well, we'll see.

5. R was home for a few hours this afternoon, bringing a car-load of dorm stuff home, and I said something about the rules of poop club, which I thought would amuse her, and it did, but then she said that she hoped I hadn't "written this anywhere," which of course, translates into "put in your online diary." I only smiled. She hasn't seen the diary and finds the whole concept somehow wrong, which amuses me. Wouldn't you think that someone whose plan is to be a professional writer would accept that writing is writing, as long as it's working for the writer? Not, it seems. It's probably just one of those I'm embarrassed by my mother things, which also amuses me, especially at her age. She wasn't like this at 15, when everybody else is.

I was 15 once, and even younger, and back then once, Shirl said to me "If I'm not embarrassed by you, you don't have to worry about being embarrassed by me." At the time, suffused with teenage arrogance, I thought, how rude. Then it came back to me once, much later, with kids of my own, and I thought, Pretty damn funny, Shirl. I get it.

6. Just wondering about l-empress, who hasn't written in a few days and hoping things are okay. Missing you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Cosby Show on Nick
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here