the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I can hear you now .. sort of 142

05.14.2003

7:33 pm

So I got my new hearing aids about three hours ago, and so far, this is how they're different from the old ones:
  1. They work.
  2. I can't hear computer monitors anymore, like normal people. This is promising, since there are 16 computers arranged in three rows in the library, and walking among them is generally torture.
  3. K and I stopped at BestBuy on the way home and when I passed between the theft-detection towers, fireworks didn't go off inside my head. Yes, my old hearing aids operated on a radio frequency, so I could hear those, too.
  4. When I put the cell phone to my ear, it doesn't sing to me now, obscuring all other sound.
  5. They are slightly lighter weight and smaller than my old ones.
  6. The quality of my voice is slightly different, but okay. I don't remember what it sounded like before, when I could hear with both ears.
  7. I don't have to worry about losing one of them, since they're connected to each other by a thin cable that goes around the back of my head. And the cable is not too long, as I expected, since I basically have a pin-head, and I expected it would make me look like a circus geek.
Tomorrow the acid test: school. For some unknown reason, at least a half-dozen people have come to talk to me at my desk in the last two days and have stood just behind my right shoulder when they started talking to me. Okay, random kids I can understand; how would they know I'm deaf on that side? As for the insane SCM, he did it three times today alone, and by now, he oughta know. He did tell me yesterday that his hearing isn't that good these days. Perhaps one day I will smack him after all.

Oh, by the way, to the nice person who left me a guestbook entry and I emailed back, I used the wrong email address **duh** so you probably wondered who the hell it was from. It was from me.

It is the happy happy birthday of my dear and wonderful Sibs today, and she is officially old enough to retire from teaching. A tempting thought, yet she needs a few more years, age notwithstanding, in the pension system, so not yet. She teaches remedial English in the inner city, which New Jersey is famous for having more of than anywhere else. (We are so small and yet have five or six substantial cities, so, proportionally, we are the most urban state in the country. Go figure.) Anyway, a draining sort of job, yet she is so good at it and well-liked by her kids. Happy Birthday, Sibs!

And so on. I tensely await tonight's Idol. Anything can happen.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here