the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

5 Question Madness! 165

06.16.2003

7:07 pm



Ooh, I got me some questions! Thanks, ink!

Here are the rules:

I post these questions and their answers on my diary and in inkdragon's guestbook. I link back to her. If anyone who reads this wants me to ask 5 questions for her to answer, leave me a note in my guestbook.

And here they are:

1. You have a purple chai tattooed on your wrist. Would you consider another tattoo? If so, what and where?
I would absolutely consider another tattoo, and am, I just haven't decided just what and where. It took a year or more to settle on the purple chai, which I totally love, so I want the next one to be just right, too. What I'm considering mostly is a peace sign, appropriate for a baby boomer like myself. I'd probably bring in my peace button and have that design copied, but maybe smaller and in different colors. The bigger problem in where to put it. I don't want another wrist or arm tattoo, and I'm thinking of just above the ankle, probably left. (No idea why left.) The only thing is, I almost always wear shoes and socks, and rarely even sandals; sometimes in the summer I might wear low tennis socks, but really, not much. And I would want a tattoo that I can see, and show.

My Chum is also thinking of a second tattoo; she says she can't get one on her ankle or leg since she has to shave her legs every living day, and doesn't want to have to stop and wonder if her legs are too hairy before she shows off a tattoo there.

I'll probably end up with an ankle peace sign at some point, though. The only other thing I can think of is Mickey Mouse, and although I do dearly love the Mouse, I don't really want anyone's corporate logo on my body.

2. You work and volunteer in a school surrounded by teenagers. Do the students ever approach you for advice concerning their lives?
I'm gonna go with a yes and no here. Yes, it happens, no, not all that often. I think because I'm not a classroom teacher, I don't get to know that many kids on that level, not since I stopped being Junior Class Advisor. It takes an activity of some kind (a club, etc.) to get to know kids more personally.
This year, though, I have had GSA kids talk to me about things, not always asking advice, but sharing a lot. This in incredibly rewarding to a teacher.
A couple of months ago, one of the girls in the club was telling me about her hope that the college separation years won't be too hard on her and her boyfriend, since they are planning to be married. I thought this was kind of heavy for a kid to deal with, but then she went on about their actual plans, and I was a little stunned. Both are from deeply religious/ethnic backgrounds, which are different, but the big problem is that she's planning to be a doctor but her mother-in-law to be expects them to marry right after college and have children right away. And this poor kid, high school senior, is terrified at the prospect of giving birth. She asked me right out if it was really painful, etc., etc. What can you say? I told her that it generally is, but it's worth it, and when she's ready for it, it will be okay. She's certainly not ready for it now, or even for thinking about it. She's just a kid.

3. You�ve said some really wonderful things about your husband. What first attracted you to him, how old were you when you first met and then married?
I have? What? When? Listen, the man totally makes me crazy and he is a pain to live with a good bit of the time. Even so, I do believe that he is my soulmate, meant for me, yada, yada, yada, so I'm stuck with him.
This story in detail (and in a few entries) starts here. But in brief:
  • We met on the first day of high school.
  • We hated each other. It was 1968. He was a hawk, I was a dove.
  • By the time high school was over, we were friends. We dated for 6 months after graduation.
  • I wrote him a "Dear John" letter (hehe) and we broke up after Thanksgiving, freshman year of college.
  • We ran into each other at the library (aw) the summer after college and he asked me out for drink.
  • While we were waiting for a table, he offered me a cigarette. I had just quit, but I took one.
  • He took me home, we sat on my front steps kissing for about two hours, and as I watched him drive away, I realized with amazement that I was going to marry him.
  • He broke up with his current girlfriend.
  • And the rest, as they say, ...

4. What qualities attracted you to your group of friends?
This may be the hardest question I've ever been asked. Some of it, certainly, is location. What I mean is, I've grown close with people that circumstance just threw me together with.
  • Sibs: My sister, of course, was there sharing a bedroom with me when I came home from the hospital in 1953. But beyond that, we have that true sister-bond, which is one of the best things life has to offer. Since not all sisiters have it, it isn't just DNA or room sharing. I don't know what it is.
  • Oldfriend: Was living across the street when we moved into our house. But I'm not still close with the other neighbors; she has something special. I'm attracted to the beauty of her soul, I guess.
  • Colleague: Became the library secretary about 20 years ago, replacing another woman who retired, and with whom I was very close at the time. She seemed nice, but I wasn't expecting any kind of special relationship to develop. Well, wasn't I wrong there. We are alike in many many ways.
  • Chum: I only met her when she became my Junior Class co-advisor, although I knew who she was before that. It makes me happy to be with her. When she sees me, she smiles.
  • E: Also a teacher in my school, now retired. This is the kind of friend, that if you did something embarrassing or gross, like forgetting to brush your teeth for a month, you could tell her. You could tell her anything. It's good to have one of those.

5. **giggling** Do you daydream about Patrick Stewart? Give details!
Proper answer: No, never! Correct answer: ALL THE TIME! Details, details ... another time, perhaps. Suffice it to say that when he was appearing on Broadway in, of all things, The Tempest, my most favorite of Shakespeare's plays, Hubs said that I should certainly go, but he had to go with me to keep me from hurling myself onto the stage. And the man was dressed in rags! Oh, heavens. Sadly, I did miss him when he appeared a couple of years ago in Arthur Miller's new play (I think it was called "Riding Down Mount Morgan"?), but my cousin saw it and said his entire costume throughout the whole play was a pair of jockey shorts! Oh my god. I would have needed resuscitation.

A little long, perhaps? Well, it is me, after all.

This was so much fun! Thanks!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching the simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here