the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Off the Calendar 169

06.21.2003

11:53 am



So now school is offically out for the summer, and unlike most other years of my life, I'm not working at all this time. Sure, I'll go in to the library now and then -- Colleague works all year round -- but I'm not getting paid, which means I'm under no obligation to go in at all, if I don't want to. And since unstructured time is not something I'm particularly good at, we'll just have to see what happens.

K finally got a summer job, so that's a good thing. It means I'll have some time in the house to myself, which is nice, and I guess I'll have to make good on that promise to go back to the gym. (Stop laughing out there.)

Unstructured time also has a way of making me confused about what day or time it is. In honor of that bit of confusion, I thought I'd kick off this summer Saturday -- the first day of summer, is it not? -- with a Friday Five and a This-or-That-Tuesday.

Five

I'll have to admit, there's not too much I can say on this one. Hair -- not good at it, doesn't interest me a whole lot.

1. Is your hair naturally curly, wavy, or straight? Long or short?
My hair is wavy, fine, and short. It's taken me years to realize that this is the best I can do with it. It works, it's easy.

2. How has your hair changed over your lifetime?
When I was a kid, I always had awful bangs that my mother trimmed herself; they were always too short and never even. For fancy occasions, she would curl it, using an old-style curling iron, the kind you heated up on the stove. This scared the crap out of me. In high school, I had the required long, straight sixties do; I knew I needed a trim when my hair got caught in the waistband of my bell-bottoms.

3. How do your normally wear your hair?
Short. Easy. I wash it in the morning, pull it down straight with my fingers, blow-dry it for 30 seconds, and then never look at it again until the next morning.

4. If you could change your hair this minute, what would it look like?
I wouldn't. It's the best and easiest hairstyle I ever had.

5. Ever had a hair disaster? What happened?
I don't know if this counts, but here goes. The long straight 60s hair came via a method called "wrapping." We had to wash our hair at night (this is pre-blow dryers) or it would never dry. When wet, we would bend over, brushing all our hair straight to the floor, and then wind the hair at the top of our heads around giant rollers. Some people used frozen orange juice cans for this. I used pink plastic rollers, two of them. Then we would wind the rest of our hair ... carefully ... around the head, clipping it in place, making the head into one really tremendous roller. This way, your hair would all be straight when you woke up in the morning. One night in the dorm, there was a false fire alarm. We all trooped out (down seven floors for me) and when we got outside, all the boys I knew (it was one of the first co-ed dorms) were staring at me as if I were a Martian. I realized finally that they were staring at the giant pink rollers sticking up on the top of my head like diseased Mickey Mouse ears. Walking back up the seven flights, I was pulling out clips and rollers like mad. I got my hair cut within the week.

This or That

1. Newspapers or magazines? Never newspapers, or almost never.

2. Books-on-tape or regular books? Tried books-on-tape, but I can't do it. I'm not an auditory learner.

3. Paperback or hardcover? Doesn't matter.

4. Fiction or non-fiction? I like both.

5. Sci-Fi/Fantasy or romance novels? Generally, I'm a sci-fi fan, but I'll read the right romance novel. I don't have patience for Fantasy any more.

6. Borrow from library or buy books (either new or used)? Should I admit this? I buy books, new. Often, I buy books and then donate them to my library. I used to work with a librarian who bought books just because he wanted to read them, and I didn't like that, so I try not to do it myself.

7. Subscribe to magazines or buy on newsstand? Sometimes newsstand, but magazine subscriptions are one of our biggest family expenses.

8. Current best-sellers or classic literature? Current once in a while; otherwise classic

9. Read books once, or re-read favorites every so often? I will always re-read books I love.

10. Here in the U.S., we have two hot best-sellers...former First Lady Hillary Clinton's memoirs, and the new Harry Potter book (coming out June 21). If you had to read one, which one...Hillary or Harry? Why? I may read the Hillary some day, but I feel no need to read it now. I'm just wild about ... sorry; Harry is arriving from Amazon via Fedex today any minute now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching something on E!
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here