the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Penis Mail 170

06.22.2003

8:27 pm



Had a somewhat serious day yesterday - part of it, anyway - but I think I'll write that tomorrow. I wasn't going to write today at all, but then I read golfwidow's treatise on spam, aka penis mail, and I just had to.

We all know what it is, we all get it. All of it is stupid. We are women, or we are men who wouldn't trust such an **ahem* significant problem to badly spelled email. Most of us, I think, do not take it personally.

Except for my father-in-law. He has somehow gotten it into his head that he has been personally targeted, for reasons he can't understand, to receive penis mail. This disturbs him very much.

What can I say, that he just doesn't get it? That seems to be it; I just don't know why. This is a guy with 30+ years experience as a teacher/school district administrator, he's a dissertation short of a doctorate (also 30+ years ago), he has more common sense than most people I know, he's never seemed in any way naive before, and he's been a computer user for almost ten years. His eyesight is not as good as it used to be -- he's 75 -- but he's the kind of guy that, if computers had come into use 15 years before they did, he would have been building them himself, and teaching others how to use him.

But he doesn't get that the penis mail is SPAM. He doesn't get spam at all, and is always sending us REAL warnings about viruses and other nonsense. A virus did get into his outlook address book, and he couldn't understand why friends and family of his were getting infected email from him, since he didn't send it.

What amuses me -- all of us -- most is that he's afraid that one of the grandchildren will sit down at his computer and be inadvertantly exposed to his unwanted penis mail.The grandchildren are 22, 19, and 18. The 18 year old is a big, handsome and popular high school senior, an athlete, the only boy in the group. I'm guessing that he, along with the three college age girls, get their share of penis mail too. Their grandfather can't handle that thought at all.
On a completely different subject, I humbly request again that you think of a new name for me! I hate my name! Name me! Click on the wonderful blinkie at the top of the page to read about my contest to find me a new name!
And for my third subject of the entry, I finished the new Harry Potter a few hours ago. A little different, no?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here