the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Zen .. 175

06.28.2003

8:32 am



The Daily Zen is a writing prompt site that I look at once in a while, but until now I haven't felt really prompted, you know? Anyway, zen is one of those things that sometimes, I just get, but sometimes, I don't.

So here's the prompt for today: If you could read the mind of only one person. Who would it be?

It would be Q.



Going with a broad definition of "person", I would want to read the mind of Q. Assuming there's a mind there to read. Some days, not so sure.

Q has issues. She's a sweet and lovely and affectionate cat, whom I've described elsewhere. But she has issues.

She does not care to use a litter box. She prefers to pee on the carpet, anywhere, it seems, on the living room carpet. She also prefers to poop on the carpet. She seems to have taken it as a firmheld belief that the entire living room is her litterbox.

I wonder what she's going to do when we take the carpet away, since we no longer seem to get much choice on that one. If I could read her mind, maybe I'd know. I'd hear the little voice in her head, and I'd know.

Those f--ing bastards, who do they think they are, taking away my litter box? What the f--- am I supposed to do now, that's what I'd like to know. I'll get them for this, I will. They've got closets. They've got pillows, and beds. I'll get them, I will, I swear it.

Then maybe I'll listen in on Boo, too.



I told her, if I told her once, I told her a hundred times: not when they're awake! If you do it when they're all asleep, they'll never know! Yeah, they'll smell it, but they're used to it by now. Geez, you are so stupid!

Okay, I'm starting to creep myself out now. I don't think I want to read anybody's mind, really. I just want the cat to stop peeing on the living room carpet.


Good news -- Chum's husband Jim just needs his gallbladder out, and then the magic pacemaker/defibrillator can go in as planned next week.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Bob Newhart Show (TV Land)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here