the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Chai on the Move 176

06.29.2003

9:03 am



Monday morning bright and early, I'm hitting the road. Or should I say, hitting the air. It'll be my first time flying since 9/11, and I have to say I'm wondering about the security procedures. R says I'm getting carried away, and I probably am; I'm not going crazy over it, though, just wondering.

So here's the plan: going to Florida for four days for a family reunion of sorts. It seems that Cousin E (who is my oldest relative still with us, the cousin of both of my parents who introduced them to each other), who lives in a very ritzy place in Florida near one of her sons, was going to have some other company. By coincidence, my sister would be there (after visiting some of The Keeper's relatives nearby) and my Cousin would be there (after visiting her MIL nearby), and since they were both going to be there at the same time, Cousin E's other son decided to fly in from Cincinnati. Leaving only me as the one cousin not there, and I couldn't have that, could I? I didn't want to go alone, though, and since Hubs would be neither willing nor fun, I asked both of my girls. So there I'll be, Monday morning at Newark Airport, with two sleepy children. All right, they're 22 and 19. That only makes it harder for them to get up in the morning.

I probably wouldn't be as nervous about the airport security if I just left the computer home, but I don't really want to do that. For one, I'd miss you all. For two, my only real link with Chum will be email, and I'll want to keep informed about Jim and how he's doing. (Gallbladder out, everything on track for the pacemaker on Thursday.) Not to mention being able to write, even on the plane, and watch the occasional DVD, even in the hotel.

Uh, hotel? Listen, Cousin E lives in a custom built house in a country club on the golf course. She's not only my oldest relative, she's the wealthiest. Her late husband, J the Man, was born in poverty, orphaned as a teenager, and went on to become a totally self-made millionaire. So Cousin E lives in a swell house in a ritzy area, and certainly has room for lots of people to stay. How many, I'm not sure. She says all of us. But she's 86; she doesn't need us crowding around her and making work. Not that she doesn't have a maid, maybe even full time. I don't know.

I told her it would be easier in a hotel, that the girls sleep late and stay up late, etc.etc. The girls told me that was foolish; they're coming to see family, they'll be awake when the family's there. So why the hotel?

Okay, I'll admit it. At the hotel, I can hook up to the Internet. Certainly Cousin E has only the one phone line; how much of that can I tie up? I'll be suffering withdrawal from the broadband as it is. But hotel rooms have that nice little data port; you can plug your modem right on and go, however slowly. So that's it. The hotel room is worth it to me just for the Internet connection.

Not long ago I answered a pieces of you prompt about how well I would manage without a PC. So now we know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Burns and Allen on TV land
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here