the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Look, Boss! 177

06.30.2003

9:32 pm



Da plane! Da plane!

It's true, I'm typing as I sit on the plane to Florida, reminded again just how awful it is to fly. The edge of the computer is jammed into my stomach, my elbows are practically in the seat behind me. I finished a book, I played Maj Johngg. The girls are semi-sleeping in their seats behind me, as the people in front of them constantly shift their seatbacks one way or another, and have been doing so since we sat down. I'm in the aisle seat, which the large man behind me grasps forcefully each time he gets up or sits down, which is every five minutes or so.

Flying sucks. Not counting the part about the physical impossibility of anything this large actually rising from the ground and moving forward, let alone hundreds and hundreds of miles in a few short hours.

It's sorcery, I tells ya.

Security was nothing, a breeze. Not a joke; they seemed to be doing just what they were supposed to, and efficiently. And we all got a laugh when I asked the screener if I needed to take off my hearing aids, and he said "What?" So I repeated the question, and again, he said "What?" As always, the girls got it before I did, probably because they pull this one on me all the time. Well, we were amused. Then we put our shoes back on and moved ahead.
Hours later now, connecting from the hotel on a dialup ... I'll get there eventually.

Just enjoyed dinner with the elderly (but you'd never know it) Cousin E, and both her sons, a most enjoyable preamble to the family reunion of tomorrow, when my Cousin arrives, as well as Sibs and her family, and we see Son R's four children, whom we haven't seen since they moved here from Connecticut three years ago.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching I just don't know
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here