the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Well, hi 179

07.04.2003

9:21 pm



Heavens.

We got in -- home -- about 10 last night, too late and too tired to read diaries, let alone write for my own. I had started an entry in the morning, sitting on the beach in Florida; maybe I'll get that in tomorrow, if I can get it right. All in all, a good trip with some really bizarre moments.

I wasn't going to write tonight, either, just read, but then I went to see golfwidow's diary, went off on a few tangents via the links there, and scrolled down to her Friday Five. I always try to write mine before I read anyone else's, so I was going to skip this week. But then I saw the topic, one near and dear to my school librarian's heart, so here goes:

The Friday Five

1. What were your favorite childhood stories?
The only books I remember having were Golden Books, which I looked at again and again and again. The first book I ever took out of the library was The Five Chinese Brothers, which remains a favorite. I bought a copy a few years ago. I also loved the stories I saw on TV, things like Crusader and Rags, which really exposed me to stories about the Roman Empire, Robin Hood, and so on.

2. What books from your childhood would you like to share with [your] children?
I began buying picture books and children's books when I was a teenager, and so I was able to share all of my beloved books with my children since they were surrounded by them from birth. I'm a big fan of anything by Maurice Sendak, and one of the favorite books in my house is Judith Viorst's Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No-Good Very Bad Day.

3. Have you re-read any of those childhood stories and been surprised by anything?
I have re-read virtually everything, over the years; maybe that's dulled any surprise I might have gotten. I do remember reading Kingsley's The Water Babies when I was in second grade and then looking at it again as an adult and thinking "Eeuuw, this is icky." I had liked it the first time.

4. How old were you when you first learned to read?
A few weeks before I started kindergarten, my father sat me on his lap one night after dinner and said that since I was a big girl now, it was time I learned to read. He used my favorite Golden Book and his mechanical pencil (a fascinating device) and showed me how letters and their sounds make words. I don't think it took an hour. I must have been ready for it. My own daughter R, as well as my nephew J1, both picked up reading on their own before they were 3 and a half.

5. Do you remember the first 'grown-up' book you read? How old were you?
I do indeed. I was in 7th grade, and read A Bell for Adano by John Hersey. I was captivated by the story, of course, but also by the power the writer held over me with his words. It was magical. A wonderful book, by the way, not often read anymore.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Reba
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here