the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

On the Beach 180

07.05.2003

6:30 pm





And so I began, parked on a $15 for 2 hours lounge chair at the public beach in Delray, Florida. Since I enjoy neither heat nor sun, I was under an umbrella, surrounded by things near and dear:



I spent maybe fifteen minutes losing and finding and losing and finding everything I brought with me. This is how well organized I was:



Notice the money and wallet sticking out, since I was sure I wouldn't be able to find them again, and I had yet to pay Pablo for the beach chairs. I did manage to tuck away the change of clothes (under the red t-shirt), since we had already checked out of our room and would be showering/dressing in the hotel's fitness center's locker room. This is so totally not my thing.

Anyway, I took out the pad -- the only thing I had to write on, common sense preventing me from bring the computer to the beach -- god, I hate sand -- and started to write, thinking that I might do the whole thing by hand and then scan it and post the images. But no one wants to read every little freaking detail about this family reunion, which was mostly really good, but it did have moments. Oh wait, one more thing: what was I doing at the beach again, anyway?

The girls wanted just a little more sunburn sun



and since two of my cousins were going to join us there, I went along. Enough of the beach. You know how I feel.

Here are my family reunion highlights:

  1. Airport security: not a big deal.
  2. Flying: sucks, no matter how you look at it.
  3. Cousin E, the family matriarch: still arrogant, haughty, pushy. But hey, who cares anymore? She's 86, looks great, feels great, still drives and goes to the ballet.
  4. E's sons, P and R, whom we have not seen for more than three years: best guys on the planet, easygoing and funny.
  5. R's family, including wife, teenage daughter, three little boys: wow, great to see them, these boys have replaced their father/uncle as the cutest little boys who ever lived. R's wife, the most gracious, warm hostess.
  6. Cousin/Sister: good to see her, too, but I'm spending five days with her in Colorado starting next week, so more on her later, I think.
  7. Sibs, (my sister, her husband aka The Keeper, and his/their 13 year old): well, my sister was f---ing nuts, overstressed, overtired, and all but ruined the whole trip for me for a day or so, blaming me for her not showing up on time or telling us where she'd be arriving. I was mad as hell, and yes, I did clear the air with her. Go me.
So there you go. Otherwise, mostly good. Cousin E wears the two hats of family matriarch/moneybags, so we ate fabulous meals at very upscale places when we ate out (I had Loster Benedict for lunch on Thursday), spent great time with not-often-seen family folk, and took all kinds of pictures, which will be dribbling onto my fotolog in the next few days.

I have neglected to describe the luggage designed by Satan and sold by his earthly agent. Next time, perhaps.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here