the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

New Jersey ... right? 185

07.17.2003

8:10 pm



Yes, I'm home. I hope I still have a reader or two left.

I got in late Tuesday night; it took me all day Wednesday to gather enough strength to run out to ShopRite for bread and a couple of other items. Not that they hadn't shopped while I was gone -- K, my baby, did the shopping, and probably any cleaning of any kind that took place -- but she missed a few items. I can't blame her; I just needed to fill in. But I was tired, and somehow, breathing with a bit of effort. Since I'm breathing just fine today, I'm guessing it was an atmosphere/climate-adjustment thing, not to mention the heat.

It was so f---ing hot in Colorado I couldn't believe it. 100 every day, and not a moist heat, either. You know what they say, about how if there's no humidity, it's easier to take the heat? Soooo not true. I felt like the Gingerbread Boy. Not to mention having to sit in the leper's section a sunny part of the yard to smoke.

I did write some while I was there, but nothing that looks currently coherent. I got to read, which was very nice: some good old Vonnegut, and that new Katharine Hepburn biography on the plane. So that was good.

I saw three, count'em, three movies, which is a real rarity for me. Chicago on the plane, cut up a bit, but good. Spellbound, about the national spelling bee, worth seeing. And, like everybody else on dland, the Pirates movie. Now, unlike my friend inkdragon, I'm not a major Johnny Depp fan, although I've always appreciated his work. But this ... well, you've all seen it, so you know. Was he excellent, or what? I read a review, in People, I think, that said his performance was almost hammy. Almost? It was hammy as hell and he knew it, and that's what made it so much fun to watch. Great movie, lots of fun. No plot to speak of, but since there wasn't meant to be one, it was just fine and fun.

Okay, now the trip. The visit. My cousin is wonderful, her twin grandbabies really very cute and adorable. Here's the however:

Her husband, actually a nice guy although weird (and they're all weird, right? I mean, I always thought my Hubs was at the head of the weird pack, but now I'm not so sure). He's a software engineer, and seems to have a little control issue over the Internet and the use thereof. He thought I was most peculiar for actually wanting to check my email once a day. I didn't even tell him that when I'm home I check it periodically throughout the day. I did tell him that I needed to check my email for Chum's medical updates on Jim, but I didn't beg. So I got to read my email on Friday and again on Saturday. After that, I didn't ask and he didn't offer. (Jim, by the way, is doing great, has the pacemaker/defibrillator, and has been released by the doctor to go away for the rest of the summer. Yay!)

The other thing that totally freaked me out about staying there was this: the bathroom has two doors, one on each side of the room. EEUUUW. Why would ANYONE EVER build a bathroom with two doors? I know that some of you may have such a thing in your home, and I ask, Why? I know this probably enters me in the weird sweepstakes myself, but again I ask, Why? A bathroom with two doors ... I just don't know.

Last word on Colorado: I'm posting some pictures in my fotolog in a few minutes, after I put up this entry. It's really very pretty out there in the mountains.
I spent a lovely hour or two this afternoon catching up on all your diaries, thank you. I missed you so.

cosmicrayola, I held my breath every time I the news from Iraq came on, since I couldn't read your updates, and am most glad to see now that I am home that Harry is safe and well.

golfwidow, I tried your quiz and I was compatible with Percy, so I'm too ashamed to post my results. At least I did better than K, who tried it twice and came up with Hagrid both times. (Hehe.) I did it again and lied, so I did get the yummy little Oliver Wood, but K says it doesn't count, since I lied.

milkmaid: you go, girl!

chubbychic: LOL

I'm sorry, kitchenlogic, it's like I've never even been in a bakery. I mean, I have, but nothing cute or clever or memorable ever happened to me in one, I guess, since I can't remember a thing.

I'm sure that somehow I'm related to l-empress. I know I once wrote something about "the-bag-in-a-bag-in-a-bag" syndrome, but I can't find it right now. I'll look, I'll look.

Reaching out over the Internet with a hearty handshake for trinity.

wifemotherme, nice to see you again.

As always, thanks, marn. I needed that. And hello to sunnflower, mel, lucy, and weetabix. I upgraded to SuperGold a few weeks ago, but I'd be happy to sponsor someone else, if it'll help.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here