the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hello 186

07.18.2003

1:05 pm



So it's Friday, almost 1 PM, I've done a whole bunch of errands and tasks. K is still asleep (really, how do they do that?) and R is out, having gone back to visit some college pals last night and stayed over. Perhaps this afternoon we will head up to a cool outlet mall in NY state where, rumor has it, they have a Chico's outlet. Love that Chico's.

What I'm doing is putting off getting to work on revising the school website, even though I've imposed a deadline of August 1 on myself for finishing it. But as of Monday, I'll officially have no real chores for the summer except the website and cleaning the basement. As the Reverend Jim said, tough choice. The website is starting to look mighty good.

I haven't seen that Queer Eye for the Straight Guy yet, since I was away and staying in a room without cable, and now that I'm home I haven't quite found it yet. But I just looked up the schedule, so maybe tonight. Good, you say? I'm looking forward to it.

Here's a Friday Five you don't see every week:

1. When was the last time you cheated?
In what sense? Anyway, in any sense: I cheated on one question on an exam in college once. I was taking the class pass/fail, and since I had never gone to class, it was looking like fail.

My major cheating experience was this: in high school, a very horrible French teacher who intimidated everyone gave the same exam to each of her five French II classes, and due to scheduling peculiarities, my class had taken the exam and gotten it back, graded, before it ever got to my best friend's class. So I gave her my exam, with the answers, to look over. Stupidly, she let the teacher see that she had someone's exam, although not whose. The teacher announced that she would give a daily zero to every one of her students -- about 130 people, I'd guess -- until the culprit came forward. All the others knew it had been mine, and encouraged me to keep silent. After three days though, I tearfully confessed. This inhuman person was so unable to deal with tears, that she rescinded all punishments and issued no more.

2. When was the last time you stole?
I confess: a blanket from a recent flight. Actual stealing from a store, never, not even a pack of gum as a kid.

3. When was the last time you lied?
White lies, from time to time. Real lies? I don't generally do that.

4. When was the last time you broke or vandalized another's property?
Never that I can imagine or remember.

Wait: broke. My mother always reminded me that I had been a destructive child, although I don't think that should count. We lived in New York City until I was two, and someone had once gotten my sister, four+ years older than I, tickets to sit in the Peanut Gallery at the Howdy Doody Show. As a lovely parting gift, she received a marionnette, I guess a small Howdy Doody. I cut the strings off it. This was held up to me as an example of how destructive I was. But that wasn't my intent. I saw the puppets on TV and I didn't see how they moved, but the strings seemed to have no purpose to me. I cut the strings off to see how it worked; kind of, to set it free. And how did a two-year old get hold of a scissors, anyway? Whose fault was that?

5. When was the last time you hurt a loved one?
Intentionally, never. Unintentionnally ... I don't know. Didn't do it and got blamed for it anyway, a few weeks ago in Florida when my sister thought I had given her the wrong time/place to meet everyone.

I was somewhat cold to my in-laws for a couple of months after they failed to say anything at all ("Sorry") to me after my father died in February, and this probably hurt them some, but still, not even close to how they hurt me. But I'm past it now, and am very sweet to them on the phone. I haven't seen them in person since, but I'll be okay when I do.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SNL
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here