the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Macro Lens and the Failure Thereof 192

07.24.2003

6:21 pm

I've been taking all these close-up pictures lately (some of which are in my fotolog) but really, my camera just wasn't cutting it. No macro zoom, you see. I do love the digital camera thing, but alas, no macro zoom. I argued with myself -- just deal with it -- get a new camera -- get a macro lens -- no, you deal with it, dammit -- and I priced new cameras and then I went to Amazon and ordered the lens, and the lens adapter to go with it to make it fit my camera.

Oh wait, the adapter for my camera doesn't exist anymore. It is now sold exclusively at Canon dealerships in Oz, but nowhere on the actual earth. So I sadly packed up the unadaptable adapter and the lovely little lens and shipped them back to Amazon. (I printed the UPS labels online and then I only had to drop them off. This was cool.)

First, of course, I checked out the local camera shops to see if they had my adapter. After politely stifling their laughter (aside into the backroom: "Hey, Les, did you hear what this lady's asking for?"), Matthew, the 14 year old salesman -- okay, maybe 20 -- was so nice and helpful that I couldn't stop myself. I got the new camera.

I was forced -- FORCED, I TELL YOU, AGAINST MY WILL! -- to buy it. Here's the thing. Last week I was telling my cousin about taking these closeup photographs and that my camera couldn't quite do it, and she said, isn't it funny, we think of nothing of making a couple of Chico's trips and spending, essentially, the cost of a camera (which we had both just done), but going out and buying myself a special treat like that, well, it's hard to take that step somehow. Generally, she's right. Now, not so much. Anyway, I returned the lens and the adapter, and the camera wasn't so much more than that. That's my story; I'm sticking to it.

So I've been on a shooting spree all day. So to speak. Lately I've been posting some old vacation shots on the fotolog, but I'll be putting these up starting tomorrow. It's nice to have a hobby. Otherwise I'd have to be rebuilding my school's website and cleaning out the basement.
l-empress tells a tale today of a job interviewee being faced by a child-like inquisitor, and, for no reason that I can think of, I am reminded of when I had one of those "uh-oh" moments. I forgot to include this when I wrote about the age markers the other day. Hmmm.

About eight years ago, one of my colleagues was leaving the school district, moving onto an administrator's position in another school. Not retiring as such, but we threw him a going-away dinner anyway. A couple of weeks before, one of the people in charge asked me if I would be one of the speakers and I said sure. I wrote up a nice little talk and I was ready to go. There were many speakers, representing one thing or another (the principal, the head of his department, etc.) and then the hostess said that since he had so many friends among the staff, they had asked that only two teachers speak: one to represent the younger members of the staff, and one to represent the ... more mature. With that, she introduced the other teacher, who was about 26 years old. Everyone at my table took a quick look at me and broke up laughing, as did I.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here