the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

There were never such devoted .. 208

08.13.2003

7:53 pm

I had a very, very cool day.

Except for the IBS attack this morning and the quart of immodium I was forced to consume. I had plans for the day with the Sibs and I wasn't cancelling for anything.

Here's why.

I mentioned once that when we were in Florida in July she blamed me somehow for her not showing up in the right place at the right time, and how this bummed me out. Then a couple of weeks later she said she saw something on TV about sisters not letting little stuff come between them, and she's decided to let go of all kinds of stuff about me that's been bothering her for a while. No more explanation, but okay. Since then, it's almost like we're kids again, or at least twenty-somethings, chatting on the phone and spending more time together. Whatever happened to her, it's okay by me.

So we had some odd shopping plans today, and I was going, dammit. Our adventures were varied.

We got to the Short Hills Mall around 11:30. This is a very hoity-toity mall; Sibs had something to look into that could only be done there, in person. It took us about 45 minutes to get there. We passed by Burberry and some baby-clothes store with $100 dresses (I never get that -- the kid's still gonna spit up on it, right?) and perused Gucci, Crate and Barrel, and Pottery Barn. We were oh so upscale.

And then drove about an hour and a half in the other direction, past home, to the brand new Christmas Tree Shop. Oh, baby. I think this is the first one of these outside of New England, and boy, I just loved this. Sibs already knew about it, since she and The Keeper vacation in New England every summer, but it was new to me. It's hard to describe -- just a little bit of everything and really good prices. I got a set of those pasta pots with the strainer lids ("As Advertised on TV"), new bathmats, and a disposable flashlight for R with her name on it. (Everybody in Wales needs one, right?)

Then, almost home and absolutely wiped out, we stopped to look for one thing at the new Ikea. Ever do that, go to Ikea for one thing?

And along the way she apologized for letting little stuff come between us, explained that it started over something incredibly minor about six years ago, and that she's been letting it carry her away since then. Holy shit, six years. We've been through a lot in six years, and for a lot of that time, I didn't even realize that she wasn't with me all the way.

Better now. All that counts. Great day.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here