the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So, what's new? 209

08.15.2003

8:23 am

Anything new, different, interesting going on where you are? Here, same old, same old. Oh, wait. The power was out for hours and hours, that's it.

By now, this is not news, and I know that many of you were affected as well. (The Connecticut contingent comes to mind.) Here in north Jersey, the power went out at 4:10 pm, and in my town, came back a few minutes before 1:00 am. Having weathered my share of disasters in the last 50 years, I'll admit that this wasn't all that terrible, mostly just boring and hungry. The heat wasn't bad; we even kept the windows closed for a few hours to preserve what conditioned air we had. I did open the fridge once to get the cat's dinner and medicine, then K and I ate fluffernutters (but without milk, eeuw.) Hubs was teaching a class about an hour south of here where they had power, and didn't even know we were out until he was a few miles from home around 10 pm.

The two big blackouts I remember in the past were in 1965 and 1977. In 65, the whole northeast went out, but we were okay, just this side of the Hudson River. But there was no TV or radio. It was weird; I did my homework and went to bed. In 77, the power went out in New York City on July 14, I believe, a Thursday. It was a week of 100 degree/100% humidity days. When the a/c went out in the city, many elderly people, including my grandmother, suffered heat exhaustion. On the 15, when it came back, she and others were told by doctors to remain inside in the a/c or risk serious illness.

I was married on July 16, 1977. My grandmother, 15 miles away in the Bronx, couldn't come to my wedding. Total bummer.

Such things we remember.

Last night, as darkness fell, we popped a Harry Potter DVD in my laptop and watched. When the battery died, K made her way into her dark attic room and got her laptop, and we watched to the end. Mostly we had the radio on.

It was all odd, boring, and hungry. Still hungry, since the first thing I did when I got up today was clean out the refrigerator. It did not smell pleasant. We'll deal.

I'll attempt the F5 later or tomorrow. Looking forward to your blackout stories.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Channel 4 News
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here