the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sleepyhead 217

08.26.2003

5:42 pm

Don't laugh at me. In a sudden "I shoulda hadda V8" moment, I actually figured out how to get this onto a page:

Boob oop de doop eh

You should go visit Marn and help sponsor her boobie run. Or, if you prefer, her Jog For The Jugs, Race For The Rack, March For The Melons, Hike For The Hooters.

Go ahead. I'm waiting.


I haven't slept well for a couple of nights, so I haven't been all that clear-headed during the day; hence, no diary entries. Bad me. I hope I can stay up for Queer Eye tonight, although I am taping it for K since she doesn't get Bravo at school. I can always watch it in the morning before I send out her package.

When I don't write actual entries, I usually write them in my head, while I'm driving or doing some other non-writing-moment thing. Too bad no one gets to read the last two days' entries; they were great. Let me see what I can do to get them back into my head. I'll work on it.

In the meantime, my sprained ankle is much better, but the brace still limits my up-and-down-flights-of-stairs-ability.of shopping at wedding outlets (I don't know) on Thursday with my sister and her engaged daughter. Nice to be invited along.

School starts next week, and according to what I hear from Colleague, who works all summer, it doesn't look like we're going to be having a smooth start. Computer systems still not hooked up and I don't know what else. More of the same. A once excellent school system collapsing under its own weight. The Board and Administration are so convinced that our 20 year old reputation still holds that they have no idea that we ain't what we used to be. It's called reality. They can't see what's right in front of them, like staff leaving for greener pastures, infrastructure falling apart. Glad I am that my kids are already out of school. If I had it to do over again now, I wouldn't move back here to raise children.

If I sleep tonight, more tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Home Improvement
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here