the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Occupation, Pre- 218

08.27.2003

7:41 pm

I think I'm now officially in a writing slump. I want to, and I keep thinking of things, but never when I'm near the computer, or, heaven forbid, pencil and paper. Here are some possible causes:
  1. My life is so wonderful and perfect that there isn't anything at all that I need to talk or bitch about. Right.
  2. My life is so boring that nothing is piquing enough interest to spell it out. More likely.
  3. My recent lack of sleep has made it difficult for me to focus. Very possible. Slept better last night.
  4. I've been spending a lot of time with the fotolog and since that's a kind of creative outlet, it's sucking out my need to express myself in other ways. Oooh. Maybe, just maybe
I don't take pictures every day either, but I do try to post something every day. I've actually created two separate fotologs, although I mostly post the same pictures in them. Here's why.

When I first got into the fotolog thing, through inkdragon and sunnflower, I just went ahead and used my diary name, purplechai, because of course, this would be another diary-type thing, and I find the general anonymity of the diary thing very ... comforting, is that it? I like it. Not that I wouldn't love a real-life visit with you all; how cool would that be? But I like very much that no one I know reads my diary (at least that I know of.) Yes, I've printed out parts -- big parts -- for people to read, and I guess they could find it if they looked, but mostly, people I know don't know how to do that. I think. Anyway, so I got the diary, I got the fotolog. No problem. Although I've got several Friends/Favorites on the fotolog, there's rarely the same kind of communication there is here; we post comments and that's about it.

Then a funny thing happened. I wanted some people I know to see some of the pictures I've been taking. All those shots in Hubs' garden, and he doesn't know I've already made him a nice little scrapbook of them for his birthday next week, so wouldn't he want to see them? His father lives an hour and a half away, and he's a big fan of gardening and photography; did I really need to email him a picture every day? And on. And on.

So I set up another one, another fotolog. The pictures, as I said, are mostly the same, but I started this one later, so some of the early shots aren't there. Through this one, instead of linking to other people's diaries as Friends/Favorites, I came across a lot of group fotologs, where anyone can post a picture that fits a theme. It's a Friday Five sort of thing, a prompt, but they're available all the time. I'm putting stuff there, too, but the same shots that are going on both the regular fotologs. Also, I've found a few that are ongoing stories, like people posting pictures of their family history.

Whoa. Who.oa. Hold on just a moment.

First: I'm confused. Like the old man at the end of Moonstruck, the scene in the kitchen: I'm confused. It's as if I can't keep it all straight anymore. I feel like Clifton Webb in The Remarkable Mr. Pennypacker: I've got two families, one in Scranton and one in Philadelphia, and two families, one in each city, and I can't keep track anymore. It takes me some time every day to go through all of these, all the Friend/Favorites, links, group fotologs. I'm confused.

And ... family history? I mentioned once before that a few years ago I wrote a book about my family history, using the pictures my mother kept in a big box as the basis for each of the stories I told. I've toyed with the idea of making a web diary out of it; I probably even have a template somewhere that I tinkered with. So now I'm thinking: I can do that. I can put my pictures and stories up here too. Well, not here here. A new diary, different template.

I'll let you know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld - not that there's anything wrong with this episode
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here