the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Don't Sweat Anything, Okay? 227

09.07.2003

8:00 pm

Small stuff, big stuff, really, what for?

Not that I let myself get really pre-stressed today (my sister did), but I'm just not all that comfortable in social situations, and Hubs is frankly unpredictable, and who knows if he'll even speak to anyone or have a temper outburst or what? And my sister couldn't bear the thought of having to share any space with her first husband, Satan J.

Today was the day of my wonderful niece's (J3) engagement party.

I didn't give Hubs a choice in this one. I didn't say, "Well, go if you want." No, he had to go to this one. It was only right.

Too many strangers, too posh posh. So I thought. This was at the groom-to-be's aunt's house, which is quite upscale in a very very upscale suburb nearby. As we drove down the street towards the house, we passed estates with iron gates and long driveways. I swear, one of them had a moat.

The upshot, of course, is that it was quite lovely. This boy's family could not have been more warm and wonderful, which I should have guessed just based on him. Satan J did come over to our table and say hello, and that was it. And here's the interesting part: He is not a nice person, which I've already established, but he was always a good-looking person. It was the only thing he had going for him. Now, not so much. He's like Dorian Gray, except the painting is okay, all his evil just shows up on his actual face. Heh heh heh.

So, Sibs was okay, J3 lovely as always, her brother J2 in attendance and looking and feeling outstanding as well. But the most amazing thing of the day for me was that Hubs acted and behaved just like a normal person. Friendly, amusing, clever. Wow. What a good day.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Nothing - in between
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here