the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Updating 228

09.09.2003

6:32 am

My friends The Computers still have a code red out on me, but at least it's settling into where we can get along. The Computers have always liked me, ever since my first summer job in 1973 where I worked with computers the size of refrigerators. (They were that small because they were wired to the CPU units [we didn't call them that then] in another room.) Mine is not a math mind, but it is logical, and so The Computers liked me. Even at school, kids will tell me they can't log on or print or something, and I need only lay hands upon the keyboard and it works. Until last week, of course, when I had apparantly angered the Master Programmer or some such and they issued the code red and all the computers at school turned their backs to me and said that snotty "Talk to the hand" thing.

It's about 6:30 am now, I'm leaving in five minutes, and we'll see what the day brings.

And after school I'm headed off to the American Express office with R to change $3000 into whole bunches of ��� so that she can open a bank account when she gets there next week. Yes. The freaking out of me is about to begin.

In other news, today is Hubs' birthday, the big 5-0. He could care less. But now, as R pointed out last night, both her parents are officially old. Thank you very much.
Some days ago, trinity63 included answers to a questionnaire that came from someplace, and I liked a lot of the questions, but it was long, so I thought I'd just toss one in now and then.

Today's Question Inspired by trinity63:

What's on your bedside table?

I have a shelf-headboard at the moment, so that's where the lamp, tissues, and telephone are. On the actual bedside table, there's a coaster for Sunday morning coffee, always enjoyed in bed with the newspaper; a couple of books, the alarm clock, a Vera Bradley glasses case (matching my bag, doncha know) that holds my reading glasses, the tv remote, and a whole collection of safety pins, tags with extra buttons, etc. The bedside table has many drawers but is very small, perhaps only a square foot. Stuff is hanging off all the sides.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Channel 4 News (Maurice & Darlene)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here