the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Paranoid is as Paranoid Does 229

09.10.2003

7:16 pm

Let's see. I'll just start with the big one:

The school website that I manage has been hacked. This is not good.

Not that the kid did damage, he just wanted to let me know that he'd cracked my password and gotten in. (There's actually more to it than that, like he did it once to show me and then did it again for who knows why, etc.) At the end of the day today I found out who it was. It seems he was bragging about it in class and another teacher overheard him. The little rat bastard.

And ... other work-related disasters. Apparently the code red has not been lifted.

On another note, and tell me if I'm really crazy here -- I mean it -- I've got a fotolog problem going on. Or not. You decide.

After I started the purple chai fotolog, I decided that I wanted family members to see my pictures, too, but of course, not know anything about the purple chai itself. They know I have a diary, but I don't think they need to see it. So my second fotolog has another name. It's gotten so I post the same pictures in each fotolog.

About a month ago, via summer email contact with the SCM, I told him about fotolog and gave him the address of my non-chai picture site. He set up his own, etc. etc. I've been a little concerned that he or someone else would link my two fotologs together, or at least stumble across the chai log, but I tried to let it go as no more than rampant paranoia.

So he mentions today that there's so much good stuff on fotolog, that he told about a half dozen other teachers about it, and they're going to use it in a variety of ways with their kids in class. Now I'm thinking maybe I'm way more likely to be stumbled upon then not.

So I'm thinking of shutting down the purple chai fotolog and just referring folks to the other one, since it doesn't have the purple chai in the title. I can't change the title of a fotolog that's already set up, at least I don't think so. And it's a paid-for gold camera log, too. Shit. Or, as I said to someone at school yesterday when yet another computer disaster befell us all:

"Crap. Crap! Big big buckets of CRAP!"

So whaddaya think, especially you fellow sister fotologgers. Am I letting myself get carried away with this? Am I too paranoid? Should I shut down the purple chai fotolog and just keep the one? Should I hang that rat bastard hacker by his nether regions from the tallest lampost in the high school parking lot?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here