the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Curses! 231

09.12.2003

6:19 pm

Foiled again. Both of the assistant principals were out of the building all day, so my face-to-face with the hacker is on for Monday. I did speak to one of the a.p.s first thing this morning before he left for a conference (before there were any kids in school) and he seemed willing to go with my judgement and plan, so that's good. And I'm thinking that it can't hurt to take the weekend to try to beef up the site's security a bit while lulling the rat bastard into a false sense of security. Let him think he's rolling over me. Monday is coming. And my wonderful niece's husband-to-be is a professional website designer and developer, and I'm seeing them tomorrow, so maybe he'll give me some tips.

And listen: the support from all of you is so wonderful I can't even tell you. Thank you, thank you, one and all.

The Friday Five. Hmm. Here are the questions:

1. Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed?

2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be?

3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?)

4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why?

5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com accurate? How or how isn't it?

My answers are here. And here. All except for question #3. (I couldn't answer #5; it didn't come up on my computer, but I'm sure they wouldn't have had my name anyway). Here's #3, How I Got My Name.

I needed a name that started with an R because I was being named after my father's grandmother, Rasel. (If I had been a boy, they would have needed an S for his grandfather Shlaime Baer, and I would have been Stephen.) I was about to be named Randy, but then, late in pregnancy, Shirl and Jack went to a movie. The name of the main character was one my mother had never heard before, but she liked it. Damn, she liked it a lot. So she dropped the "a" off the end, changed the spelling so that no one who ever heard it would be able to spell it right, and gave it to me. It was only years later that she found out that this is like the third most common girl's name in Italy. She always claimed that she "made it up", created a new name for me that no one ever had before, and so I had an original name. It's a terrible name, and has now sucked continuously since 1953.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here