the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm just saying 233

09.14.2003

8:37 pm

My kid is moving to Europe for a year in two days.
There's a banner -- you've all seen it -- that says

There is no life like a life in Christ.

I've looked at the diary. It's very nice. It's not all fire and brimstone or anything; it's a nice regular diary from a nice regular person. I'm not sure what she means here, though. Is it

a) that she's really really happy with the choices she's made
b) that a life without Christ is meaningless
c) that my life is lived with less value than someone who has accepted Christ


or what? I think it's all of them.

I think that means that those who have this point of view have difficulty seeing that others may achieve the same degree or even type of happiness even though they have made other choices. I wonder why there are so many who appear to see it this way.

The truth is, I know what she means. I know just what she means.

It hurts my feelings. Every time I see it, I think, well good for her that she's happy, but she pretty much thinks that a life like mine can only be empty and never be fulfilling unless I see it all her way. And every time I see it, it hurts my feelings, because I don't need to see it her way at all. My way is just fine for me.

I'm just saying, is all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching a movie ... for now
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here