the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Rundown 237

09.18.2003

6:31 pm

And now, in the news -

On TV it looks like Washington DC is washing away in a flood of rain and wind, but I was just IMing with K and she says it's all okay. No classes today or tomorrow, they're staying in watching movies, and her suite-mate The Gourmet is cooking for them all. So that's good.

And apparantly the BBC news made it look like the entire east coast is washing into the ocean, which prompted R to call from Wales, which, frankly, I've been waiting for all day. All is very very well with her there. So now I can breathe easily again. (And throw out the rest of that pack of Parliaments. Yes, I've been bad, but I said I would stop again when I heard that she was there and settled. So that would be now. Really.)

And here in north Jersey, the wind is just now starting to pick up, but we haven't seen any rain yet at all. My in-laws say that it's been raining down the shore for a few hours, but nothing that they can't go out in. (After all, he's got rehearsal with his barbershop quartet.) We're expecting something, but nothing like I've been seeing on CNN in North Carolina, or even the southern Jersey shore, down in Cape May.

The last hurricane here was four years ago; our basement was about three inches deep. Afterwards, I actually got The Chief of the Recycling Police to just throw out any garbage bags I packed up, so at least I got something out of it. My school was closed for a couple of days; it was being used as a shelter for some people in town who got flooded out. We're not due for anything like that this time, but I know that many others are; I hope it goes as easily for you as it can. Keeping good thoughts here in New Jersey.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here