the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just another Friday 238

09.19.2003

7:43 pm

So it's all settling down now. I've heard from R and she's happily ensconced in her dorm over there, so I'm happy. I don't even feel like I need to hear from her every day now. I do, however, need to dig out her room, starting tomorrow. She did pack up a lot, but not everything. I "borrowed" a nice big glass head that I found in her room, and now it's on my desk, wearing a couple of the baseball caps I go out in when it's raining. K names every thing that comes her way -- her big ceramic head is named Dennis, no one knows why -- so I'm tempted to think up a name for the glass head. So far, the only one I can come up with is Roger. This is because Roger and Dennis are probably the two boys' names I like less than any others in the whole world. (And there's a kid in my school whose first name is Behcet. I don't know how to pronounce it, and when I asked him, he said he didn't either.)

Let's see what I can do with this F5:

1. Who is your favorite singer/musician? Why?
Can't say I have a single favorite. I'm a big Beatles fan since 1963. Why? Because they're the Beatles. I enjoy many others: Moody Blues, Simon and Garfunkel, John Denver. I also like Mozart, and the music of George Gershwin, Benny Goodman, and Rodgers and Hammerstein. But mostly I'm stuck in 60s-70s rock.

2. What one singer/musician can you not stand? Why?
I guess Neil Young is talented, but his voice puts me off. He is, however, a favorite of the Hubs.

3. If your favorite singer wasn't in the music business, do you think you would still like him/her as a person?
I don't understand the question.

4. Have you been to any concerts? If yes, who put on the best show?
I went to fewer concerts than your average 1960s flower child, but I went to several, mostly enjoyable. One of the best shows back in the day was Harry Chapin. He came out to the audience and sat on the back of the first row seats, facing everybody. He was wonderful. Also, we saw Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes (a friend of Bruce Springsteen) in a small theatre in Asbury Park, his first time playing at home in a year or more, and that placed rocked, man. It was great. Also, I have happily attended about five Moody Blues concerts within the last ten years or so. Never fails to please.

5. What are your thoughts on downloading free music online vs. purchasing albums? Do you feel the RIAA is right in its pursuit to stop people from dowloading free music?
Okay. I would be very happy to pay per song to download the music that I want. I have no problem with that at all. No reason it should be free. However. If the music industry is not going to provide this service, then they are going to have to take the consequences. I do now subscribe to Rhapsody, but there's just so much that they don't have. I'm waiting to see the iTunes when it's ready for the PC. But come on. People are not downloading the free music for personal profit. I think the RIAA has no right to prosecute people for downloading for personal use. It's there, it's available, they do it at their own risk (that software is awful, full of spyware), and the RIAA doesn't offer a decent alternative. Their court cases are absurd, prosecuting families when one member was maybe doing it.

I'd be real happy to download movies, too, for a reasonable cost. It's like when videotape came out, and the movie industry went nuts. But now, that's where they make a big part of their money. Let the RIAA find a way for us to pay for decent downloads. Then everybody's happy.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here