the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Me, 1 to 10 239

09.20.2003

8:45 pm

I have always held the very firm belief that children must have Pez. I have given my children Pez dispensers for most of the Christmases of their lives, and have sent them any number of Pez dispensers at college. I went to Shop Rite this morning for, among other things, a nice American Pez dispenser to send to R over in Wales, and imagine what they had on sale: giant pez dispensers! That talk! So I picked up a Homer Simpson and a Miss Piggy and put them away for Christmas. (And a keychain Gonzo, already winging its way to the U.K., and a keychain Marge Simpson, heading south on Monday.)

To make my day even more fun, when I got home there was a message from the Sibs, asking if I wanted to go shopping with her and my Wonderful Niece this afternoon. I did. They forced me to go with them to the DSW, and to buy shoes. I bought two pairs. Here they are:

Black Skechers (Sibs bought the same ones)

On the Me scale of 1 to 10, these are about an 8.

And these totally cool Army green sneaker things:

On the Me Scale, these are about a 9.5.

It's true. I crave clothes that are just a little ... odd. Not clothes, really, accessories. Shoes. Bags. Hats. Jackets. I may have mentioned before, I am not the school librarian of your childhood. I wear jeans to work. Every. Day. (I have eight or nine pairs of jeans.) With the jeans I like to wear a solid color t-shirt and then a nice shirt over that, more often than not from Chico's. I pretty much wear denim or Chico's, all the time. If it's cold, I may wear a sweater or sweatshirt instead. I don't wear sloppy. I wear casual. Extremely casual.

My favorite hats are ones with earlaps, you know, like Johnny Carson used to wear in that dippy routine he did. I have two, one made out of rabbit fur that Chum got me about 15 years ago at the L.L. Bean outlet store in Maine. I did wear it that winter; now it's packed away safely, since the cats seem to think it's some sort of prey.

And shoes. These last few years, I only wear shoes without laces, although I did buy the Skechers today, and I wear Timberlands in the snow. I basically wear three pairs of shoes: Skechers pull-on sneakers (also DSW, $29), Merrell jungle mocs, and the 10 year old Timberlands. I had this really cool pair of low Converse sneakers in read and gray plaid flannel, which I wore to all school events (school colors: red and gray), but I finally just gave them away to the Student Council advisor.

So Monday morning, I'm heading out in my jeans and tee and Army green velcro sneakers. I wonder how long it will take for Colleague to ask "What are those shoes you're wearing?" I'll give her until about 9:00.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Whoopi Goldberg's new show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here