the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Saga Continues ... 245

09.27.2003

6:41 pm

Of a pair of freakin' weird people. That's right. Talked to the in-laws last night.

Okay. I still can't decide if it's them that are strange (and brother, are they) or what the hell is wrong with me that I was married to their son for 25 years before I noticed. I'm thinking, seriously, that I always thought my family was so out-there, and it's only now that my family is essentially gone that I've been able to see the ILS as they are.

So for today's current event, the cheery FIL calls up last night, just about ten minutes before the end of Joan of Arcadia, I was actually getting into one new show this year, and he's all chatty about how they got these wonderful emails from both R and K at school, K liked the package they sent her, our niece away at school liked her package, all fun and games. Then, with only slightly less cheer, he mentions that the MIL's brother, whom I've seen I think three times in the last 27 years, had colon surgery and he's fine. Hmm. For what, we didn't ask, he didn't say.

And then, oh by the way, his own sister's husband, who is my Hubs' godfather and who was best man at our wedding, and who had carotid artery surgery last month, just suddenly lost the sight in one eye yesterday and they're all waiting to hear form the doctor and it probably doesn't look very good.

Doesn't look very good? Shit, it sure doesn't! Sounds like a stroke to me; how long do they have to wait for that news? One of my grandfathers lost the sight in one eye one day and six months later he had the massive stroke that killed him. And now Uncle Sweetie Pie isn't doing so well. This is a great, great guy, folks. One of the best.

So why can't the FIL just come out and damn tell us? Why does it have to be the P.S. to a chuckle and anecdote filled conversation? I ask, not for the first or last time: What the hell is wrong with them, anyway?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Queer Eye
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here