the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Dose is Dumb 248

10.01.2003

6:28 pm

So I went to see Dr. Katz, Sinus Guy, after school today. He sprayed some kind of anesthetic up my nose so he could go look around in my sinuses. The numbness will wear off in 30 minutes. I mean, about two hours ago, he said that the numbness would wear off in 30 minutes. As you can see, not really. So I stopped and bought some Twinkies on the way home, and ate them as soon as I got here. You get the connection, don't you?

Anyway, tomorrow I'm going for a CAT scan of my sinuses, the better to rule out surgery. Uh, YEAH! No surgery, please; I've had enough of that for a lifetime. Antibiotics would be nice, however. I'm going back to see him again on Tuesday, so I guess I'll get some results then. All of this is for a toothache, remember. Which doesn't hurt so much now that my nose and upper teeth are numb. But I don't suppose I can go around like this all the time.

In other news ... wait, there is no other news. R has begun to send us some pictures from Wales, which so far are just touristy. Except the first one, which I liked: she was in her room and held the camera up and took a picture of herself. She's got a camera attachment for her cell phone, so she can just email them. She's good with cell phones, but curiously has never used a camera that she didn't lose or somehow destroy. So this seemed like a good plan.

K, my baby, makes me laugh. What can I say? I just sent her an IM (even though I could see she's away, and I know she has a class tonight), just to leave a message. I got back her auto response: "Mom (really my username) smells like poo." Gotta love that kid. I'm just glad that the milk I was drinking with the Twinkies didn't come out of my ... uh ... nose.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here