the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

ESP .. and the Buddy List 249

10.02.2003

10:32 pm

My, you are all so interesting today! I had one of my ESP things going on anyway all day, to whit:
  • I was talking about a former colleague, both to Hubs last night and to someone else in school this morning, and then this afternoon he came in to visit, the first time since he retired three years ago
  • I was scanning a list of every kid in school -- about 1600 -- and at a random point, as I was reading someone's name, she was paged over the P.A., the only kid paged in school today.
And then I came home and started reading diaries.

I got it in my head that instead of leaving so many guestbook entries, since that doesn't always work so well anyway, I'd just write a whole entry of my own to so many of those on my buddy list who made me want to respond today. And then, the ESPyness of it all really became clear. To whit:

  • hausfrau: wow, someone new put me on her buddy list! Guten Tag!
  • gem-chan: Snow? Where the hell do you live? Snow!?
  • cosmicrayola: Good luck with your surgery on October 14! Everybody send good luck to cosmicrayola!
  • aunti-mari: Snow? In Pennsylvania? Too close, too close! (See also gem-chan)
  • inkdragon: Sounds silly, maybe, but try this: think of yourself as a rock in the rain. You're there, you'll always be there, you'll always be okay, and the rain can come down on you for centuries but really have very little effect. In other words, pretend you can't hear a word the SIL is saying and maybe it won't bother you so much! Good luck!
  • l-empress: Love trains! Just picked up K from the station (yet again); it's the best way to travel from DC to here.
  • kidneygurl: Whenever I see a very elderly person, I always think: in high school, this was ... a football star ... a cheerleader ... the quiet kid who was good with cars .... the class clown ... I guess because I see so many kids all the time, and wonder where they'll end up, I see it backwards from the other end as well. Just as we should all know what it's like to be a kid, we need to remember that all elderly people were once just us.
  • kitchenlogic: Going to meet weetabix in the actual person. Oooooh.
  • la-the-sage: "Bush is an epsilon moron." Ha! We use that one all the time: so-and-so is an epsilon moron. Love it. And a boob job? You go, girl! If it makes you happy, do it. (See also trinity63)
  • milkmaid: I almost never did homework with my kids or asked if they did it. If they didn't, it was going to be their problem. For one of them, it sometimes was, until she got to college and got her priorities straight. So she didn't go to Harvard. Boo hoo. She wasn't getting in anyway, and we couldn't have afforded it. The other was too anal to skip homework, at least until she got to college, and got her priorities straight.
  • sasori-gal: Coffee Day ... cool. Today we designed a mug to sell at our upcoming Gay-Straight Alliance Coffee House that says on the side It's hard to hate when you have coffee. One of the kids in the club said "That's so random." I answered "Yes. Yes it is."
  • sunnflower and strangerlucy: Bugs, bugs! Icky.
  • taydo: Beds, ah, loved the illustrations. My own K is home for the weekend, and as her bed is going out in tomorrow's trash, she sleeps tonight on a sofabed with no legs, so unless she sleeps backwards, she'll be sloping down and all the blood will rush to her head. Interesting dreams, perhaps. I hope she sleeps backwards, myself.
  • trinity63: buying her bras at "Vikings R Us" - hehehehehehe. And another boob job! (See also la-the-sage.)
  • weetabix: Meeting kitchenlogic in person! And, god help us, snow! (Okay, I know she's in Wisconsin.) And by the way: "I'm 32 and still listening to the same music as when I was 17." Well, I'm 50 and every so often, Paul Aunka makes me smile. Is it supposed to stop?
  • and
  • marn: Speaking of boobs -- and boy, is she -- the JUG JOG is on for October 5, which is almost now, so go and give her some support, okay? *hehe ... support*
Okay, not everything is ESP.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching uh .. nothing, not even ER
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here