the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

By the Fri 251

10.04.2003

8:40 pm

I forgot to mention the other day that the retired staff member who dropped in to visit actually retired from teaching and wrote a book, which is being published. How cool is that? This is an amazing man, a scholar, a wonderful teacher who was as good with burnout kids as he was with honors classes, and all kids loved him. He has had a most unusual life, and the book is basically his memoirs. A brief preview: he spent his teenage years growing up in the Arctic, in one of Stalin's work camps in the Gulag. So you see. Expect to see his book shamelessly promoted here when it comes out.

And then yesterday, after the furniture was all delivered and the giant truck was off my lawn, I went to a wake. (The 98-year-old mother of a former high school staff member had passed away.) So I got to see several old-timers I see almost never (except at wakes, actually), including the most wonderful Mr. Buckley, whom I wrote about some time ago. So this was a special and unusual thing for me. It's always odd, isn't it, when you go to a wake or a funeral and see someone you totally love but never see otherwise and you hear yourself (and everyone else) say "It's so good to see you!" And then you remember that you're only seeing each other because somebody died. So weird.

As promised, yesterday's Friday Five:

1. What vehicle do you drive?
My car is a 1997 Geo Tracker, four-door. The color is officially something called "Sage Silver". It looks sort of wheat-colored, if that means anything. The interior is black. I always like to drive a car with a black interior.

2. How long have you had it?
Almost exactly six years. I think I got it the first or second weekend in September.

3. What is the coolest feature on your vehicle?
That it works. It doesn't really have any cool features.

4. What is the most annoying thing about your vehicle?
Sometimes it's annoying that it's small, although most of the time this is a plus. When we need to move a kid back and forth to college, we have to rent a van. Before this car, I drove Astro mini-vans for ... six years, I think, and a small station wagon before that.

5. If money were no object, what vehicle would you be driving right now?
Hmmm. I like a Jeep Cherokee, the kind they made about ten years ago. Very boxy. I like boxy cars. I must drive a car where I sit up high, like an SUV or a van, but I wouldn't drive a very big car, like a Suburban or a Hummer. I expect to get my next car in two or three years, and I'm hoping that by then there's a car out that I love. At the moment, I'm not seeing anything in particular.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching What About Bob?
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here