the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hi 256

10.12.2003

6:38 pm

I'm still here, somewhat, not thinking all that clearly but living sharklike: I need to keep moving all the time. Must be the prednisone. So far, the toothache (that started it all) is actually better, but I'm hardly sleeping at all, and when I'm not sleeping, I need to be moving. Like doing errands, or looking for more pictures to put on the piano, or going up and down the stairs with laundry. It's a very strange existence. None of the muscle aches or pains I usally associate with prednisone, but a continuous low-level headache since Wednesday. It gets worse when I lie down, which may account for the not sleeping or sitting still, but probably not. Mostly, I just don't sleep, although the last couple of months have been good.

Anyway, the head's not all that clear, so I haven't gone out anywhere since this morning, not wanting to drive. The good news is that Sibs and I are getting closer to making the final arrangements for the trip to the U.K. in February, and even cooler is that R got a part in an improv troupe at her school and we may be there to catch her last performance. And I thought that once high school was over, so was going to see the kids in their productions! Surprise!

As I may have mentioned, I'm cutting school tomorrow so as to miss an absolutely horrible staff development day; I scheduled routine blood work for the morning so I could legitimately say "Hey, I have a doctor's appointment!" Not that I don't look like death warmed over. I figure I can just go to school on Tuesday with no make-up on, and not even The Psycho will have the nerve to ask me why I was out on Monday. She'll take one look and tell me to go to the hospital. (It's the sleepless darkly circled eyes + the prednisone puffiness. And the allergies are killing me, so my bad eye keeps twitching in the corner. I really look like shit. Hah!)

Uh ... I know I promised a picture of something today, but damned if I know what it was. Oh. Maybe it was this:

jack's shadowbox

This is the shadowbox I finally put together with the stuff I found in my father's cufflink box the day after he died. Here's the rundown:

  • top left: window decals of his college fraternity letters with the original overwrap still on them
  • top right: the ticket to the dance that my parents went to on their first date
  • middle left: his business card from the Army -- who knew they did that? -- that describes him as a First Lieutenant. He was a Captain by the end of the war
  • lower left: uniform's embroidered captain's bars (never sewn on, a spare pair) and a tarnished U.S.insignia, worn
  • middle right: a business card from the company he started after the war with my grandfather and uncle (my father's in-laws). Due to a labor strike, they went under within a year.
  • lower right: a wooden ruler that was a "give-away" from the business my father owned and operated for over 40 years with a partner, now also gone. I still have dozens of these in every drawer in my house, and we found them all over when we cleaned out the apartment, too. They're everywhere, always have been, always will be. Academy Embroideries is gone, but the rulers live on forever.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Best in Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here