the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What we had here 255

10.10.2003

8:22 pm

was a town-wide power failure yesterday afternoon, about an hour before school was over. It was with very mixed feelings that I watched it come back on before we all actually left the building. The good news was that I could go home, reset all the clocks and things, and still use the computer. The bad news was that they weren't going to have to cancel Back to School Night after all. It was, as expected, B O R I N G. But I got to work some on the new template I'm hoping to put up here in a week or so, so that was something anyway.

And then, Club Fair today. As promised, pictures, although I don't know why anyone else would really be interested. First, our table display:

the display

Every club in school gets a table and some space, and this is what we did with ours. Lots of little factoids, giveaway keychains that were really cheap and easy to make, and of course, candy. No candy, no kids come to your table. You could be the Boiling Live Puppies Club, and if you have candy, kids will come and look at your display.

But the poster had to go on the wall behind us and just off to the side, so I don't know how many people actually saw it. No big deal, it's going up in the nurse's office on Monday. (She's also a co-advisor.) Everyone goes there sooner or later.

the poster

And since our big event is coming up in a couple of weeks -- a Coffee House/Open Mic Night -- we advertised shamelessly, including these mugs which are also unbelievably cheap and easy to make, and which we'll be selling that night:

GSA: the coffee mug

Keychains, poster, and mugs courtesy of the brain of the purple chai. What did the kids do?

The wonderful L, still a gutsy broad and recovered from meningitis, although less an internal organ or two, was bouncing all over the gym (bralessly, unfortunately; I kept reminding her to cover up some), loudly announcing that we had candy and everyone had to come to the GSA table. Helluva kid.
I didn't get the email. I think I fell off the Friday Five list. But I found them, nyah, nyah! Even so, here are the questions, but I think I have to answer them all together.

1. Do you watch sports? If so, which ones?
2. What/who are your favorite sports teams and/or favorite athletes?
3. Are there any sports you hate?
4. Have you ever been to a sports event?
5. Do/did you play any sports (in school or other)? How long did you play?


I don't think I've ever played a sport without getting hurt, although I climbed a lot of trees when I was a kid and played a mean game of kickball. There are sports I think are pointless, either to watch or play, like basketball: looks like fun doing it, but every game is won or lost in the last five minutes, so why play any of the rest of the game? Football -- sorry, it just looks mean. Surfing always fascinated and terrified me, but that's true of most water sports, since I can't swim. I didn't grow up with hockey, but I've been to a couple of games, and it's exciting. So what's left?

Baseball, of course. Is there any sport more graceful, more American, more poetic? Was it ever said better than it was by Terence Mann (James Earl Jones) in Field of Dreams:

The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It has been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game: it's a part of our past, Ray. It reminds of us of all that once was good and it could be again.

Go to any professional game, and the first time that greener-than-green hits your eyes, you're once again that age you were at your very first stadium-baseball game, and the magic is the same every single time. For me, that first vision was in Yankee Stadium, 1962 or so. I saw Mickey Mantle and Roger Maris and Elston Howard play. I don't remember who else. We didn't go often, just once in awhile. I was a Giants fan as a kid, so when they came to play the Mets once, Jack took me so I could see Willie Mays play in person.

Baseball is also Jack. It was probably an over-riding constant in his life, a love that never went away. He went to see the Red Sox play in Fenway when Fenway was the newest park in the major leagues. He learned to read so that he could read the sports pages. He never played, not really; he said that when he was a kid he played every sport but none of them well. But he watched. He watched baseball all his life, except when Shirl was sick and made it impossible for him to concentrate. He got to enjoy one last season, though, after she died. Sitting in his little den, surrounded by newspapers, crossword puzzles, and uninterrupted baseball brought him a lot of joy.

Maleness, or masculinity, is somehow very connected for me with baseball, and appreciating baseball. Yes, I know it's Freudian, so kill me. It was something about my father that I really liked, the baseball loving and watching thing. So when Hubs and I were first going out and we got very into watching the Yankees together, it was very cool. These were good Yankees too, before Steinbrenner went nuts and made them all prima donnas. Helluva team: Thurman Munson, Chris Chambliss, and more. Before Reggie Jackson came on board. We went to a couple of playoff games, too. Hot damn, they were good. And the grass as green as ever

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Joan of Arcadia
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here