the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No Clever Title Today. Sorry. 267

10.27.2003

7:21 pm

So, let's see ...

I stopped at the pharmacist when I was out before, to find out if I take all my regular stuff and an ambien on top of it, will I implode. He says no, and I'm going with it. After a great night's sleep on Friday, and an okay night on Saturday, last night was not so good. And of course there was going to work today. So tonight, perhaps a bit of kip for me.

Speaking of work ...

All those awful things people say about schools and public education, well, I guess they're true. Either that or I am just working in the worst place ever ever ever. Despite the wonderful Coffee House last week, where we had diversity and tolerance and creativity and all those wonderful things. Today I went to that meeting I go to every month with all the administrators and department heads -- I must have ranted over this before -- and after making it perfectly clear (not in so many words) that the only thing we can possibly do is teach for the state test (since that's the marker for the Big Moron's No Child Left Behind debacle) and the SATs (since that's what parents are complaining about), the Psycho had the nerve to say that the most important thing is that we educate the whole child, including sports, activities, and so on. Aw, come on, make up your mind! Can't have both! And while I'm on the subject, yes, I know there are about 400 kids in Honors classes, and about 400 who are Special Ed. classified. They all deserve the appropriate attention. But, helloooo, there are 800 other kids there, the average ones! Can't we notice them a little sometimes, too? This obsessive attention towards the gifted and the classified just means that everyone else is screwed. Bush doesn't care about them, since they pass the state tests and therefore don't show up anywhere as needing remediation. The insane getting-into-college-people don't care about them, since they're not applying early admission to the lofty Ivies, they're just going to -- the horror of it! -- state colleges, or even Rutgers, so why bother?

Shit. Pisses me off.

Everything is pissing me off; it's the not sleeping and the sinus/toothache thing. I almost damaged people at Ikea today. And Home Depot. Can you imagine, I ran to Ikea and Home Depot after school today? So we've got it verified now: I am crazy.

Speaking of crazy, and I hope this doesn't cause problems for anyone, I saw on TV over the weekend -- probably CNN Headline News, which I love -- that the three songs that most people get stuck in their heads are:
  • The Lion Sleeps Tonight
  • The Chili's Baby-Back-Ribs theme song
  • Who Let the Dogs Out
In this house, it's the bedevilling "Who lives in a pineappele under the sea? SPONGE BOB SQUAREPANTS!" from the mini-van commercial.

Just sharing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here