the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Broke a Nail 266

10.25.2003

7:26 pm

And it was on virtually the last part of the set of Ikea desk/bench for the girls' room, too. Not that I ever have nice nails, or nice hands for that matter, but I mean I jammed the hammer into it and it broke off below the line. Ick. Hurts.

I know it's really K's room, but since R's is now the Hubs' office, I'm starting to think of it as "theirs", the room they share. Odd, especially since R will only be home for a few weeks at Christmas and then not again until about a year from now. I can't believe I'm actually putting decent furniture into my house, at last. (Hubs inspected the benches carefully for particle board, since I am The Queen of Particle Board, but these are made of actual wood.) It's very exciting.

I went to try and buy the bed today, too, but I a) couldn't find a headboard I liked and b) was very put off by the two bed stores I went into. Buying beds is a scam, by the way. You know how they all say that they have the lowest prices, and if you find the same bed for less they'll give it to for free or something? This is how they do that: when Serta, let's say, sells beds through Macy's, and they sell the same beds through Sleepy's (or whatever chain is near you), they sell the identical bed but with a different color cover and under a different model name. So you never really can find the same bed anywhere else, for any price. At least that's what I've found in the past. I think I'll just wait until I have a day off -- two, actually, at the end of the first week in November -- and call that 800 Mattress thing. And keeping looking for the headboard.

That brain cloud thing I said yesterday, by the way, is not original, although I wish it was. I stole it from It was an homage to weetabix. And here's another one, which you may have heard, but someone said it in the faculty room yesterday and it was new to me:

"Mirror, mirror, on the wall:
I'm my mother after all."

Hmm.

Best of all, I went to sleep last night as if it's something I do every day, and I slept like a normal person! Yay! I could not believe how much energy I had this morning! (Which is what got me to move all the furniture upstairs, go to Ikea, etc., etc.)

And I've also been wondering -- but not a lot -- What is the deal with Ashton Kutcher? I mean, does anybody care? And if so, why?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Access Hollywood
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here