the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Damn You, Psycho! Damn You to Heck! 279

11.11.2003

6:22 pm

Not only was I really psyched up and ready for the meeting with the Psycho this morning, I even started writing a really good diary entry about it, adding to it as the morning went on. And then at 11:00 -- the scheduled meeting time -- I got a call that she was delayed at a meeting with her boss, and wouldn't be able to make it. And when I did see her a couple of times today briefly, she was sweet as sugar, which is, of course, when she's at her scariest.

Now here I am with this swell, half-written diary entry with no ending. Is she a killjoy, or what?

What the hell. Here it is:

(title) Pooh. Pooh-Pooh on You

8:00 am: I started the day by putting on some powerful magic. When the Psycho says -- as she is wont to do -- "what a pretty sweater!" -- I can reply "Thank you. My mother made it." Shades of fairy tale heroes wearing chain mail woven by their mothers.

When my mother developed a grudge against someone, which only could mean someone who had hurt one of her children or grandchildren, here's how she achieved her revenge: when she was driving past the elementary school, for example, whose principal had screwed over my niece but good, starting in first grade [what is it with this town, anyway?], Shirl would roll down the window, say in an oddly dispassionate way "Pooh. Pooh-pooh on you." and then spit. Spit! The grandchildren were blown away by this! What a cool grandma! She is so cool that she would actually spit for us! Even now, when we pass the nearby home of another evil one, my girls recite dispassionately in unison "Pooh. Pooh-pooh on you."

9:00 am: I review my plans for the meeting with my association rep, who will be there to make sure I don't agree to do anything that is illegal, or worse, stupid.

10:00 am: My blood pressure is still good, so I'm thinking it was the caffeine. So now that's
  • coffee
  • chocolate
  • potato chips
  • pretzels
  • nuts, seeds
  • raisins
  • popcorn
that I can't eat. I forsee that I am about to begin to subsist on goldfish crackers and enfamil.

End of entry. Meeting re-scheduled for next Monday. Perhaps I will begin to live a normal life again. At least I was able to update the school website again today, first time in a week. Funny how when something you love to do turns to ashes you can't bring yourself to touch it at all. Funny.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here