the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

NOW It's Friday 289

11.21.2003

6:09 pm

I was supposed to go chaperone the school play tonight, making all day feel like not quite Friday since I was going to have to go work tonight, too. But then I felt the headache start to crank up again after a pretty good day and I thought "Damn! An out!" So I told the adminstrator in charge tonight that I was unlikely to make it. Go me. So I can stay home and watch "Joan of Arcadia" after all. And play with iTunes, my newest hobby, getting all my .mp3 in all neat little playlists.

I tried to leave a message in golfwidow's guestbook before, but I don't know if it went through. If you're not personally golfwidow yourself, you should go look here. My message is: I'm going out for some limes. Q and BooBoo are going into the witness protection program.

Here's My Five. Even though I think I've covered a lot of this ground before, but I don't have the energy to look for the links. It's not energy, though -- I'm actually feeling pretty good since I upped the blood pressure med on Tuesday.

1. List five things you'd like to accomplish by the end of the year.
  1. Move R's stuff out of the living room.
  2. Eat better.
  3. Fix the bathtub.
  4. See both of my children in the same room at the same time.
  5. Finally make the reservations for the trip to London in February.
2. List five people you've lost contact with that you'd like to hear from again.
  1. Mindy - a childhood friend I went to college with, and then took a trip to England in 1974.
  2. Jessica - best friend from childhood; I've written about her a couple of times before, I think.
  3. Carrie - an odd childhood friend. Difficult to describe, or explain. Hope she's okay.
  4. Bea - the library secretary before Colleague, she retired 20 years ago (wow) and although we were very close, she felt no responsibility for keeping in touch, and left it all up to me. I was busy.
  5. the Bobs - when I went to college locally and lived at home (the last two years), Mindy and I became buddies with two goofy guys, both named Bob. The last time I saw either of them was at my wedding.
3. List five things you'd like to learn how to do.
  1. Dance
  2. Play the drums
  3. Speak Yiddish
  4. Play mah jongg
  5. Eat better
4. List five things you'd do if you won the lottery (no limit).
  1. Pay all the bills, including the college loans
  2. Buy a timeshare at DisneyWorld
  3. Fix up my house and sell it
  4. Buy a house with a dining room
  5. Fly first class
5. List five things you do that help you relax.
  1. Read diaries
  2. Write
  3. Mess around with the computer and obsess over it
  4. Have the TV on all the time
  5. Spend time with my sister

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here