the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Lucky Number 304 304

12.08.2003

7:57 pm

This is my entry #304, which for some reason is a number that I like. 304. I know what it is -- it was the number of R's and then K's Girl Scout troop that I was the leader of for a millenium or so -- I just don't know why this should make it such a big deal. The other number that I really really like is 732. This was my room number when I lived in the dorm for my first two years of college. For a nauseating finale, I also like 973, which is the first Dewey Decimal number I ever learned and remembered. It means the history of the United States.

I really am boring.

In other news, I got so caught up in reading diaries just a while ago that I almost completely forgot to write an entry myself. And then I remembered so here I am, but that doesn't mean I have anything to say.

I felt an odd little foretaste of my mother's bipolarism earlier today, when I realized that for no reason whatsoever, I was in an excellent mood, playing loud happy songs in the car on my way to therapy, for which, by the way, I was suitably morose last week. All week I wanted to sort of preserve the flavor, if that's what it was, from last week so I could maybe actually get somewhere today and make some ... okay, progress, but I couldn't quite bring it up. Let's see, analogy, analogy ... like tuning in a radio station on my uncle's old console set that had a shortwave band, and in the middle of the night if you kept one hand on the window sill and one foot on the front porch you could bring in the BBC. Couldn't quite tune it in today. Doesn't mean it's not there. Oh, it's there. One day I'll be bopping along to the oldies station and bam! the BBC, when I least expect it.

I don't know, is any of this making any sense?

I'm not what you could call an auditory learner. When someone gives me directions, I listen intently and then I write it down. I'm a visual learner. So I've never been a fan of the audiobook, as is the Hubs. But I just finished listening to Ellen Degeneres' book -- amusing -- and now I'm trying Steve Martin's new novel, which is The Pleasure of My Company. I may have read a short story or two of his before, and like it, but this is really something. His thought processes and language are really remarkable. A fascinating read. Listen.

As a parting note, the funniest damn t-shirt I ever saw, which I hope is not offensive to anyone out there. From the WhatonEarth! catalog, which no doubt has a website as well, a deep green shirt (not that the color matters) which says on the front in a handwritten font:

The say I have A.D.D.
but they just don't understand.
Oh Look! A chicken!


'Night.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here