the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Amuse Me 303

12.07.2003

5:25 pm

There was a point this morning when I decided that it would be an excellent use of my time and energy to wrap all the holiday gifts, using up what was left of last year's paper (which I could actually locate) and then I would know how much more paper to buy. I did take all the gifts out of their hiding place -- a carton in the corner -- and lay them out on the couch. I began to wrap the first gift, the biggest one. Not enough paper.

At which point I must have thought of The Lion King ("Remember Who You Are!") because I put all the gifts back in the carton, tossed the paper remnant, and went to Walgreen's to buy paper on sale. I'll wrap them, I'll wrap them. I've got what, 16 days? Well not really, I want it done before the girls get home, so I'll do it next weekend. Promise.

Then, because I must have had some leftover amnesia, I thought it would be a good idea to weed out the bags in the hall closet. As I've mentioned before, I have a bag problem. Actually, it's more like I have a container disorder, but I'll settle for bag problem. I acquire bags: tote bags, cellphone and glasses cases, handbags. The handbag thing is the funniest, because at least half of my life, I haven't even carried one; I've just used my jeans pockets for everything instead. Of course, now I'm a fan of the Vera Bradley,

the black Vera Bradley
and carrying my wallet in my back pocket just aggravates my sciatica.

But I digress.

A combination of other factors, which are too weird to go into, led me recently to get an iPod, which, I've got to say, I'm having fun with. (Suffice it to say that I get myself a really nice birthday present each year. I just got this one a few months early.) So I wanted a little case-like thing to put it in inside the Vera. And I knew I had to have one someplace, right? I mean, I've got like 26 SportSacs; there had to be something. (These are SportSacs going back to 1977. Because I also have a real throwing-things-out problem.)

I opened the hall cubbyhole that bills itself as a closet, and, Fibber Magee like, bags and cases burst out everywhere. I gathered them up and began to sort. The upshot is that I am indeed tossing a shopping bag full of crap, and I only put back ... let's see: one tote bag full of neatly folded tote bags, one Jansport backpack full of wallets, and ... oh, this is really the embarrassing one, a really big Clinique tote full of ... little Clinique totes, make-up cases, changepurses, and heaven knows what else. But the Cliniques don't count! They're free! They're bonuses! I swear they were free; how can I throw them out?

So what did you do on your snow day?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Family Ties marathon - shoot me now
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here