the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hello It's Wednesday. 306

12.10.2003

7:18 pm

Here's how Wednesday's going:

It's an in-service day, a holly jolly in-service day. This means that the kids were released early at a time euphemistically referred to as a "half-day", and that the staff goes to workshops in the afternoon. However. When your day normally ends at 3:05 (2:35 for kids) and you get out at 12:30 and then get an hour for lunch, it's not so much a half-day as it as a most-of-the-day. Not that I'm complaining about the time, especially the time off. Oh, wait, I'm not off. I'm here. (And I get here before 7:00 am anyway, remember.)

So what's with the workshop? They're teaching teachers how to differentiate instruction. This annoys people. Because they're not really differentiating, they're trying to get everybody to toe some articifical mark using some packaged program.

But I didn't have to go there today, because I ditched the first part of this crap back in October, and it doesn't so much apply to what I do anyway. So I asked if the SCM and I could work on another project in the library and we got a nice yes.

So now it's almost three, I've assembled a few shelf systems to house my extensive collection of archival materials and now I'm not doing much more than typing this entry, although I'll upload it later at home. Actually not so extensive, the archives, but interesting, some World War II newspapers, old high school scrapbooks, and some other stuff. Old school literary magazines from the early seventies in which I am a prominently featured author.

Waiting to go home, where I think the missing Dell hard drive will have finally arrived. Just to spice things up, K called me here about an hour ago to tell me that she had just lost her credit card (on my account, of course). All freaked out, poor thing. Amazing how that becomes a hassle but not a big scary deal. I called them, they cancelled it, they're sending a new card. That's it. Okay, she needs to make a phone call or two regarding her train home next week, and a couple of adjustments online, but hey, it's not like anyone can find it and use it, and she'll have another any minute now.

It's Wednesday. I keep thinking it's Thursday all day, no idea why. There must be some name for this, like calendarically challenged. It happens to me all the time.

Got a free book in the library today from the Teamsters, called 100 Years of Teamsters History. Did you know that the Teamsters are responsible for everything wonderful in the world, like sunlight and food and anything that anyone might consider good? How wonderful they are! Why do people write this crap and send it to libraries? Can't they just take out ads, like everyone else?

So tomorrow is Thursday, right? Got it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here