the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Flirting with Disaster 307

12.11.2003

6:41 pm

Instead of putting in K's new hard drive after school today, I took a nap. And just in case the Puritan ghosts don't rise up and ethic me to death, I had a glass of milk first. Milk, yet another normal food that doesn't sit so well with me lately. But so far, so good. (And I'm sure the two chocolate Hostess cupcakes I had with the milk couldn't possibly have any ill effect. I know those are good for me. Howdy Doody always said so.)

In my effort to build a collection of cheap, yet obscure, DVDs, I ordered these two yesterday:

and

Now these are a couple of full-length cartoons that were on every year holiday time when I was a kid and which I never missed. Gulliver, I think, was always on Thanksgiving morning, and Magoo the next day. They fascinated me. I knew vaguely that Gulliver was some kind of literary classic, and this movie both amused and scared the crap out of me, but in a good way (not like those scary-ass flying monkeys in the much-feared Oz). There was indeed something very creepy about the artwork, but the story about the tiny people intrigued me. I never knew until years later that there was way more to Gulliver than Lilliput.

Mr. Magoo's Christmas Carol was a whole other story. First, I knew Mr. Magoo; there were Mr. Magoo cartoons on all the time. And I had no idea whatsoever that this was a classic story by Charles Dickens. I thought it was a very clever Mr. Magoo cartoon. I already loved Crusader and Rags, and they were always set in some past time, like ancient Rome, so why not Magoo? When I did finally realized what A Christmas Carol was, I actually expected Ebenezer Scrooge to be nearsighted. Ah, me. And to this day, even though I am a huge non-fan of Dickens, I do still like this story.

Speaking of A Christmas Carol, the only version I've ever seen that gave me a bigger thrill than Magoo was this one:



But I didn't see the TV version, like in the link. I saw this in full glorious life. And by the luck of the draw, since I ordered the tickets by phone, I saw it from the first row. And Patrick Stewart himself played every single part, at times just a few feet away. Ah. Me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here