the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Simply Having 319

12.25.2003

7:53 pm

A very, very quiet Christmas, our first non-blizzard related Christmas day spent at our own home, together, ever. We didn't even get to the gifts until 11 or so. This is what happens when the children aren't children anymore, and they know that everything will still be waiting for them under the tree whenever they decide to get up. Ah, things have changed!

I had the most lovely day giftwise, which is to say I got some things that were nicely thought about and related to the actual me. K didn't get one of the DVDs I suggested, but rather a different movie altogther that cracks me up and she knows it, A Mighty Wind. R brought two little tree ornaments from Wales -- I love to get tree ornaments from faraway places -- and this:



Not only did she KNIT this scarf for me herself, she made it in Gryffindor colors! And the paper crown in the picture is from some Christmas poppers (I think that's what they're called) that she brought home also. You pull the ends of the poppers and there's a little gunpowder in it (like a cap in a toy gun) that makes a noise, and inside is a little toy and a paper crown, which they all then wear all day on Christmas over in the U.K. That is, everyone in the family pulls a popper and gets a paper hat. We wore ours for about a minute and half.

And then we watched endless Saturday Night Live reruns on Comedy Central and made our own holiday feast. Really, it was our Thanksgiving feast which R missed, and I made most of it. Yes, I cooked! Food! Actual food!

Heavens, I cannot move. Certainly since the girls are home I gained back whatever I lost when I started on the high-blood pressure meds last month, and then some. It was as if I could feel my stomach growing as I sat at the table. Can't even touch the pumpkin pie. Maybe for breakfast. Because that's a healthy eating plan.

Tomorrow the plumber comes to fix the faucet in the tub and then we're on to the ILs on Saturday. An interesting development there, perhaps a bit on that the next time.

Hope you've all had the holiday you always wanted!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here