the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And this is how insane I am 320

12.26.2003

12:35 pm

I don't know if I can even explain this. Here goes.

The plumber came this morning while Hubs was out picking up some of his non-food type food (his office is closed today) and I settled into the bathroom for a bit. The phone rang, and thinking it might be my sister, I rushed the three feet from the bathroom to the bedroom and checked the caller ID. Not the Sibs, but the ILs. Well, I can talk to the Sibs sitting on the can, but no one else living on the planet, so I let it go unanswered and went back to my ... uh ... business. But to my surprise, they left no message. This began to disturb me.

Why would they call today? We spoke to them twice yesterday, and will see them all day tomorrow. Why leave no message? What's up with that?

And on it goes. Should I tell the Hubs they called? If I knew they called, even though they didn't leave a message, why wouldn't I have called back? Should he call back? Is the padded truck on the way yet?

No, not yet, because it got worse. I decided to go out on an errand, hoping he would get home and they would call back and he would answer, because I began to be afraid of what the call was about. Certainly, they were calling to say that his uncle, who's quite ill, had died, and of course, they wouldn't leave a message about that. That must be the reason for the call. All the way out and back to the recycling center with a car full of cardboard boxes, I'm wondering about how Hubs and his parents will non-deal with a death so close, and that I've gone through this loss of parents so recently, and I'm already feeling so terribly sorry for the aunt, and her three sons and all those grandchildren.

I went out, I came back, he came home, no call. This was almost four hours ago that they called. More than enough time for them to have driven up here to be with the aunt, if that's what they were doing, and call us from there. More than enough time to call us back for any reason whatsoever. Right?

So now I'm figuring it must have been a wrong number; they pressed the wrong number on the speed dial and when they heard our voicemail message they hung up, because they weren't really calling us to begin with.

Okay, now the padded truck is on the way.
| || ||| |||| 5

1. What was your biggest accomplishment this year?
Turning 50, and not falling apart when my father died.

2. What was your biggest disappointment?
Losing my father.

3. What do you hope the new year brings?
Peace and quiet. The retirement of The Psycho.

4. Will you be making any New Year's resolutions? If yes, what will they be?
I believe in making changes, but never artificially, like "as of this date". I don't think that kind of thing works well. Even though I had August 1 as a stop smoking day in the back of my head, I didn't declare it to anyone or myself, or really commit to it. When the day came, I just didn't have a cigarette that day, and went on from there.

5. What are your plans for New Year's Eve?
Watch TV. We haven't gone out on New Year's Eve for over 20 years, which is just fine by me. I hate crowds. Anyway, it's just another minute on the clock. The clock changes over at midnight every night; I never see New Year's as a big deal. (Although I enjoyed watching the day long celebration around the world for 2000.) I'm sure I'll be sleeping at midnight on New Year's Eve.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching R is remote surfing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here