the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Cautionary Tale 324

12.30.2003

10:24 am

My clipping service, AKA the Hubs, sent me this link this morning:

http://www.wnbc.com/news/2731687/detail.html

with a postscript of his own: "It was a freak accident." You may or may not recall that this is the tagline of a classic All in the Family routine (there was a marathon over the weekend on TVLand) in which Edith describes to an astounded family how she hit a car with a can a cling peaches (in heavy syrup).

My emailed reply to the Hubs was "What's your point?" because for sure, he anticipates this happening to me someday, as my parents always did. I'll bet my father threw the ghostly image of the Collyer brothers up to me once a week while I was growing up.

I'm really much better now than I was, and I'm trying so hard to throw stuff out and not buy more stuff that I really don't need, but boy, it's a challenge. It's a life-style changing challenge. And I have so little closet space. My sister has great big closets in her house; when she goes looking for something, her 13 year old says that she's going spelunking. She's way worse at this than I am, it's just that all her piles of stuff (or, "mountains", as we call them; yes, they have a name) are neat. Mine, not always so much.

But I am going to tackle the pile of papers that need to be kept that I haven't sorted or filed in a few months weeks. It's a good New Year's Day project, and it makes the whole tax nightmare, not to mention the FAFSA nightmare which makes the tax thing look like a day at the beach, a whole lot easier.

I promise I will. I've been warned.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here