the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Let's Review Yesterday 325

12.31.2003

8:24 am

I had this amusing article about the hazards of never throwing anything out, which led to some strange email with the Hubs througout the day, as he got some weird idea that I was offended by it. I thought it was a hoot. I thought it was such a hoot, that after I wrote about it in my diary, I sent a copy of it -- but not the real link -- to my nephew J1 in California, since he's been asking to read some of my stuff, and I thought he'd relate to this. For one, he was the only teenager I ever saw whose room was worse than mine (until my own kids became teenagers, that is), and also, I'd recently sent him about twenty of my diary entries, which he got a kick out of.

What I did that was different was that in the continuing attempt to clarify my position on this to the Hubs, I sent him a copy of yesterday's entry, too. Never done that before. Oh, he's read the occasional article I've written, and he did read the Star Trek novel I wrote about 13 years ago, which he liked. But never any diary stuff. Felt weird, very weird. In general, my diary is not for my husband or children or sister or friends to read. I am considering sending the link to J1, though; it seems oddly safe since he's so far away. But I don't know if it's a good idea. I don't know if I would really feel safe letting it out like that. (Safe? What am I, exposing the nuclear secrets here? But you know what I mean, right? A kind of personal safety?)

In other news, I'm working diligently through the huge tray of Christmas cookies the ILs gave me, which is not what I need at all. Someone told me about a program called "Curves", and I picked up a book about it in Costco yesterday. Yet another diet/exercise plan that makes perfectly good sense in the book. Whether I could follow such a thing is another story.

And in other news, I've finally caught K's cold, so I'm guzzling tea and staying put for the next couple of days, except for a brief lunch today with E and Chum.

Happy New Year to one and all!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Today Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here