the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Plodding 331

01.07.2004

7:18 pm

So I didn't go to the fancy-shmancy dinner after all, by virtue of having been barfy all day whenever I ate something. (That's more than you wanted to know.) The Hubs did say in the morning that it wasn't a big deal if I didn't feel well enough to go, so okay then. No point in going to the best meal on earth -- and it is -- if you can't eat.

I was going to post an entry last night, but I honestly could not think of a thing to write past that first paragraph. Dull, dull me. So today at work between cataloging and freezing my ass off, I made a little list of the books in the new shipment that I found particularly interesting. I haven't taken all of these home to read, only about five. We'll see how that goes.

BTW: If you notice a little inconsistency in capitalization in the titles and subtitles, it's the librarian in me vs. the English teacher. I was trained as a librarian never to capitalize anything in a title except the first word and proper nouns. Because I was taught to catalog by Melville Dewey himself, personally. I'm sure they teach it differently now.


Book Lust: Recommended reading for every mood, moment, and reason -- It's really a guide for librarians, but it's a nice little readable book for book folk. There are over a hundred "moods", including things like "Czech It Out", "Chick Lit", "I Love a Mystery" and so on, and each section is written in a chatty style.

Early Sunday Morning: The Pearl Harbor Diary of Amber Billows, Hawaii 1941 -- I'm a sucker for this series of fictionalized diaries of ordinary people at different times and places in American history. The series is called "Dear America". We don't buy many of them, because they're really for middle school readers or younger, but I have a few girls who know these books are young for them and love them anyway, as I do.

ChaseR, a novel in e-mails -- Another YA novel, this about a 14 year old who moves with his family and keeps in touch with old friends via email. Every page in the book looks like e-mail. I like experimental type formats, so this one intrigues me.

The Seven Daughters of Eve; the science that reveals our genetic ancestry -- They're saying that the DNA of everyone of European descent traces back to seven primeval women. It's non-fiction that looks like a good story. It was a bestseller when it first came out.

The Little Ice Age; how climate made history, 1300-1850 -- I saw something on TV about this maybe 30 years ago, and it stuck with me and always intrigued me. At some point, the climate of the world changed, dramatically. I used to wonder: why would anyone ever settle in a place like Finland, where it's cold all the time? It probably wasn't always that cold, but by the time it changed, people were already living there.

Born in Bondage; growing up enslaved in the antebellum south -- Childhood and family life of American slaves.

Munchie Madness; vegetarian meals for teens -- Looks like one of those "For Dummies" books, but much thinner and more accessible. We'll see.

You're Smarter than you think; a kid's guide to multiple intelligences -- Thomas Armstrong, who wrote this, also wrote some of the texts and article I used when I learned about this in grad school a few years ago. The MI theory is one of my favorite ones ever, and I believe that it's true. This is a nice book, the explanations are clear, and it seems to be designed to show kids that they've all got smarts of some kind, and whatever kind they've got makes them okay. I like that whole attitude.

America by the Numbers; a field guide to the U.S. population -- Clear explanations and cutesy charts about all kinds of current demographics: urbanization, immigration, marital status, education. Okay, this one's not so exciting.

Political Theories for Students -- I thought this would be little explanations of communism, democracy, etc., but instead it's more like profiles of people with political theories, so much more interesting. Like, if you look under communism, you see lengthy profiles of Karl Marx, Lenin, and so on. Well put together, a good reference book for the comparative government class.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching DeGrassi
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here